Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
My mom makes great banana bread, but I like to make things a little more on the healthy side, so I tried this recipe. It was ok, my family really didnt rave about it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
O My God! This bread is fabulous! I took the advice of many of you and substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil. I also used 3 bananas, which came to approx. 2 cups mashed. I then added a couple of tablespoons of nonfat sour cream (I know...it sounds like an oxymoron) and 1 cup of fresh blueberries and arrived at banana bread heaven. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I can't believe this is good for me! Thanks for an awesome recipe. I'm going to try using applesauce instead of oil next time and a little more bananas too. Try it toasted with cream cheese. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
that sounds like a good thing to make hopefully it'll go nice at my parents anniversary meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This bread was good. I used about 2/3 cup applesauce instead of oil and it ended up a little dry. Also, I chopped the pecans very fine so my little one wouldn't choke on the larger pieces. I think these would make better muffins. When I make this recipe again I will make them into muffins and add a little butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon topping for the last couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I also used applesauce instead of the oil- turned out great, moist. I threw in a handful of mini chocolate chips- very good, adds a little bit of fat, but makes into a little bit more of a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This is a GREAT recipe! I used pearsauce(i was out of applesauce) inplace of the oil, and egg whites in place of the eggs, and walnuts in place of the pecans, which makes it even better for you and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Very hearty and delicious! I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil to lower the fat. I accidentally used baking powder instead of baking soda, but it turned out terrific anyway. The pecans are a MUST -- they enhance the nuttiness of the whole wheat flour instead of it tasting bitter like whole wheat sometimes can. I also liked that this wasn't overly sweet -- bet it'll go great with some fruit and yogurt for and energy packed breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I too sustituted the oil w/applsauce. It turned out heavy(meaning you wouldn't eat as much) but so much better than my now old receipe. Thank you for a much more healthy alternative!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I made these again last night, and found that you can subsitute pumpkin for the bananas. Groovy discovery for pumpkin lovers like me! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States