Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good and healthy. Used 1/4 rolled oats instead of wheat germ. Instead of 1/4 cup of oil, I used 2 TBS veggie oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. Did not have honey, substituted brown sugar. I made muffins instead of bread. I did not mix in the nuts, I sprinkled them on top of the muffins. Cooked the muffins for 30 mintues, next time I will only do 20 minutes... they were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I made a double batch of this today. Milling my own Wheat Montana Prairie Gold wheat berries and subbing oat flour for the wheat germ. I used no oil but all applesauce. Used walnuts. Next time I will use a little oil and more honey and maybe some dates as I didn't think it was quite sweet enough for banana bread. We are enjoying this bread! Our 16 month old granddaugher said 'ummmmmmmmmmmm!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very tasty. I, also, used applesauce in stead of oil. I baked muffins for 15 minutes in 350 convection oven. I lined the muffin pans with flax flour. It made 18 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Purvis Schwartz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is a beautiful recipie - the resulting bread has the perfect amount of sweetness. Sometimes I add an extra banana, which gives the bread a bit more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe was ok... a little too... wheatty? It was good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Wonderful! I tried this recipe last night, it came out perfect. moist and yummy! Next time I'm going to change some of the ingredients like melboteast did to get a healthy bread.. I love that it's 100% wheat flour and the wheat germ is nice too! I have been trying to get totally away from white flour due to it not being good for Our bodies.. This is a good recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Is this recipe feasible? It doesn't mention water. I think most bread machines will choke on the ingredients below. I sounds great, could you please review the water content?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made into muffins. Very dense and filling. Half a muffin for breakfast really does the trick. And healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I love when I find a moist, sweet, and delicious healthy recipe. I opted for muffins. The recipe made 12 large muffins. They baked for about 30 minutes. Everyone at work loved them. I used Oat Bran because I did not have wheat germ and walnuts in place of pecans. Lastly, I topped each muffin with a banana chip. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
wonderful! I loved the rich healthy taste of this bread - I even cut the oil in half and used 1/8 cup applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States