Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
3/20/06 I used this recipe to make muffins yesterday and they are delicious. I used 5 over-ripe bananas and 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce (a recipe I found on this site) in place of the oil. It made 12 mini muffins for my 2.5 year old daughter, and 18 regular muffins for my husband and me. I love it. The muffins are very very moist, and have a thick texture. I had trouble finding wheat germ at the store, but finally found it next to the oatmeal and cream of wheat. The muffins cooked about 15 min for the minis and 20 for the regular. I think they taste great, my daughter loves them, and my non-muffin-eating husband even said they are "pretty good." I can't believe these are so healthy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I added extra banana as others suggested, I subbed all the oil for applesauce. I also used imitation honey (sugar free). The bread was really good, but check for doneness early as mine took about 10 minutes less time... Overall an excellent and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
My husband loves healthy items and this one is A BIG HIT in our house. I have made it now 5 times already! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe. I have only changed one thing and that is what kind of nuts to add in, this time I did one loaf with almonds and one with walnuts. Otherwise it's perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This recipe has a good flavor but it was pretty dry. I used almonds instead of pecans and cooked it about 50 mins. I have never cooked anything with wheat flour so I don't know if maybe that was the reason it was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Split3ways

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I doubled the banana. bread is so moist and sweet. the best banana bread i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I should have read more of the reviews before putting this together. Unfortunately it was very dry and overdone after 50 minutes. It certainly has potential with more banana, less bake time and possibly some sugar & cinnamon. This time I just added honey to the top as a spread. I will try to make again with the previous changes/additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Good bread. Like others I replaced the oil with applesauce I also added about 2 Tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
You can't really go wrong with this recipe. I didnt have any veg oil, so i used margarine; didnt have honey so used maple syrup; didnt have wheat germ, so i used wheat bran. Tossed in choco chips, raisins and lots of nuts. The bread didnt rise as much as I wanted still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Wholesome and filling. I also substituted applesauce for vegetable oil. Very good and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I loved these so much that I felt compelled to write my first review! I took the suggestions of some of the other reviews below (used 1/4 cup applesauce and added just 2 TBSP of vegetable oil). I also added an extra banana and did not mash them completely so that there would be big banana chunks in the muffins. Topped each with a whole pecan before baking and they turned out beautifully. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States