Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe is not for everyone, but it works for me. It is like the marriage of wheat bread, banana bread, and a bran muffin. It has very little sweetness, but it tastes well with a little whipped butter. It bakes up so nicely too. I used the exact sized pan suggested. It happens to be a darker baking pan of mine, but I used Bakers Joy spray and seemed to have no issues with over browning. I sprinkled the top with chopped pecans before baking and suggest that as a garnish. As far as ingredients I followed the recipe exactly except I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ and safflower oil for the vegetable oil. I also noted that the 1 1/2 cups of bananas came to 3 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious!!!! Not overly sweet, like so many banana bread recipes. I cooked my loaf for 55 minutes, and it came out a little dark....I will try 45 minutes next time. I used 3 bananas, and that was barely 1-1/2 cups. Next time, I will try substituting applesauce, like so many have done, and ground flax seed. I may top the loaf with sunflower or pumpkin seeds, as well. Just the smell in my kitchen of this bread baking made it worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I tried this bread recipe yesterday night. I halved the recipe as it was a trial version. I did not have wheat germ, so I pulsed Quaker quick cooking oats in the grinder and used that (same measure). I don't like pecans and also didn't have any, so used chopped cashews. Baked it for 30 mins at 180 C and the bread turned out perfect. Not too sweet, not moist or dry, just like fresh bread. My family finished half of it after dinner. In the morning everyone tried a slice with a little butter and also lightly toasted (without butter). We all loved it and now I have a reliable bread recipe to use every week. Thank you Gladys George. Wish you all the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I did make some modifications as others have suggested such as increasing the bananas (I added five) and substituting 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil. I omitted the wheat germ, because i didn't have any on hand and nuts because my son doesn't like the texture of them. Neither were missed. Absolutely fantastic. I didn't have a loaf pan or muffin pans so I baked it in a large cast iron skillet for 50 minutes. Came out perfect and yummy. Thanks for a healthy option for this bread. Yummy. (And my furrbabies can even have some for treats with the ingredients which means I don't have to make their treats separate from my yummy goodness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I try out banana bread recipes all the time and this one is thee best ever! I'm a health nut so I tweaked it like everyone else does on this site to suit my needs. Finally a recipe that uses just whole wheat bread. Love it, love it. Whoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I really like this recipe. I knew from the ingredients that it would be savoury rather than sweet. It is definitely NOT your grandma's traditional recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was moist and took an hour to bake. It was just what I was looking for as it keeps my sweet tooth happy without adding so many calories to my day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
We made this and it tasted great! We used agave nectar instead of honey, and we added extra bananas and about 1/3 cup of applesauce. We did not add nuts. We took ours out at 45 minutes, and it was a little bit undercooked at the top. Next time we will use a wooden toothpick to check doneness (our plastic one did not work!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I put oatmeal instead of wheat germ, added a handful of flaxseed, omitted pecans and use 1 egg cause that's what I have in hand and it came out moist and soft. My husband likes it and I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is my 1st recipe w/ entirely wheat flour and wheat germ. I was nervous that is was going to turn out dry. I took the tips & tricks of others and it came out moist & delicious. I replaced the oil with natural applesauce, soaked the walnuts in water while preparing the bread, used 4 bananas, decreased salt to 1/2 tsp, and added dark chocolate chips. I made mini loaves and cooked them for 25-28 minutes. My picky husband said it was awesome! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States