Banana Walnut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Oh my goodness this is wonderful!!! I'm in heaven! This ice cream was easy & quick to make (quick once it got into the ice cream machine, at least!) - worth the wait for the original mixture to cool off. It's creamy and definitely banana-y. I had to make a couple of adjustments just because of my fridge contents - I only used 7 egg yolks, instead of the 8 called for, and I put in an extra banana. It's GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wonderfully creamy with a delightfully fresh banana taste--nothing beats ice cream with a cooked custard as its base. I scaled this down for my Cuisinart ice cream maker, using the ratio I like of 2 cups cream to 1 cup half and half. I prepared the custard as the recipe directs (be careful not to let it boil!), strained the mixture through a fine mesh strainer, then chilled it in an ice bath. When the mixture was cool I added the last cup of cream and the banana--didn't bother blending the two in the blender--then chilled it for several hours in the refrigerator. Finally, once the ice cream was churned, I turned it out into a large chilled bowl and stirred in the chopped walnuts as well as a good cup of chocolate fudge brownie chunks. I served this to four adults,and this was so good they all went back for second helpings, surrounding the ice cream container like kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Absolutely amazing ice-cream! I followed the recipe exactly, but mixed in added chopped brownies at the end. I made another batch but mixed in chopped graham crackers at the end...both variations were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
made this without the walnuts and put in a swirl of peanut butter and added some dark chocolate chunks. delicious! just like the ice cream i used to love but got discontinued!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Excellent!! New family fav!! Used all half+half and a little extra banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My only regret is that my ice cram maker only makes a quart at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great banana ice cream!!! Good base flavor for all kinds of stir-ins. Halved the recipe and added an extra half a banana, and a dash of vanilla. Will make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
The banana custard flavor of this ice cream is awesome, but I didn't like the consistency that I ended up with. I usually make my ice cream without eggs and it ends up smoother. This one seemed kind of icey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Incredible! This was my first attempt at making ice cream. If I hadn't seen it come out of the ice cream maker I never would have guessed it was homemade. Wonderfully creamy! Certainly an indulgence food that I will need to limit to special occasions though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdroush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grandview, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is an amazingly delicious ice cream. I made it exactly as written, but didn`t have an ice cream maker, so just put the custard in the freezer. The banana flavor is so rich, the texture is very creamy, nuts give an extra kick, although the ice cream will be delicious without nuts too. This is one of the most delicious ice cream recipes I`ve tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States