Banana Walnut Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This bread is simple to make and tastes great! I like it best spread with a little butter or margarine. I think it is better than my usual bananna nut bread because it is not as heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!! The only change I made was using agave nectar instead of honey and coconut oil instead of veg oil. I also added 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce. But the recipe is outstanding. Nice and healthy and filling. I was also able to get more servings that what is listed since it is so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This is just the best thing ever. If I could give it ten stars, I would. I can't believe I spent 28 years of my life without it. It's like a cross between cornbread and banana bread, and in my opinion it combines what's best in both - the hearty taste of cornbread with the moist texture of banana bread. If you're the type of person, like me, who has trouble deciding between a corn muffin and a banana muffin for breakfast, this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I am giving this recipe 5 stars only after several adjustments.1) I doubled the ingredients (except the b. powder)for 2 loaves 2)I used regular white flour instead of pastry flour 3)No walnuts 4)1/2 cup brown sugar 5)Baked the slices of banana on top of the loaves(not folded into batter) 6)Cut oil in half and replaced with applesause....and voila! Moist, slightly sweet banana cornbread! A great way to combine two great breads. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Soooo good, and soooo addictive. Perfect combination of banana's & cornbread... never would have imagined! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GlutenFreeMe
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
The perfect breakfast! Nuts, bananas & cornbread - what a healthy snack for kids too! I used gluten-free flours to substitute the wheat flour and it still turned out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlutenFreeMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I only made this once, but made these substitutions: 2 large squirts maple syrup rather than honey 3 T sour cream (since people said it was dry) 3/4 c cornmeal and 1/4c brown sugar (since people said it wasn't sweet enough) Very tasty! My egg-allergic son could also eat it - yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Excellent! But to be fair, I made a few modifications. I used 3 large bananas plus the one sliced one, I halved the oil and added 1/4 cup milled flaxseed, added 2 T reduced fat sour cream, and added a pinch of salt. I found it to be plenty sweet, though I don't like my breakfast breads tasting like cake so this was perfect. The walnut flavor comes through beautifully, it's full of great nutrients, and it's very satisfying alongside a cup of coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this recipe to get rid of the black bananas I had in my freezer. Loved the bits of banana in the bread. I did not use walnuts, I was out. I did not use an egg like some of the other raters suggested. It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
wonderful mix of cornbread and banana bread! like one of the other reviews i just couldn't pick. wonder why i didn't think of baking both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States