Banana Walnut Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Recipe was OK. Doubled the recipe and baked in a 9X13 inch pan for 40 minutes. Flavor was a little weird and texture was more on the dry and crumbly side. I did add 2 heaping tbs of sour cream and extra 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup oil to the recipe. I gave the recipes three stars because I was able to use up old bananas and had run out of eggs. It was actualy good warmed with butter and drizzled with extra honey. (By itself, with no extras - not so good). Will not be making thi sagain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
wonderful mix of cornbread and banana bread! like one of the other reviews i just couldn't pick. wonder why i didn't think of baking both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this recipe to get rid of the black bananas I had in my freezer. Loved the bits of banana in the bread. I did not use walnuts, I was out. I did not use an egg like some of the other raters suggested. It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Made as muffins- yummy, but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Made just a few minor changes. Used an egg as recommended. Also used white flour. Baked 50 min in a loaf pan. Sliced up without problems. I like the less sweet taste of this loaf. When making it again I would add a bit of salt to the recipe and try the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I typically hate banana anything, but tried this because i didn't want to toss my bananas and thought my kids might eat it. well i actually love it too! I read the reviews and made these changes, I skipped the third and final banana, used regular bread flour because that's what i had, added an egg, was a little generous on the liquid measurements and used a little imitation almond instead of walnuts due to a nut allergy. I also substituted 3 tablespoons of maple syrup for the honey. My kids and i ate the whole thing in a day. Delicious and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. It's not too sweet (which is a plus for me). it was just a tad bit too crumbly. I think next time I will add an egg just like the reviewers suggested. Overall, it was a very scrumptious cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I added an egg to help with the crumbles everyone was complaining about. The kids really enjoyed this. My husband thought this was good, but just not flavorful enough. I made them as muffins - they took a little over 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I didn't find it necessary to mix the ingredients in a food processor. I just omitted the sliced banana at the end, and mashed and mixed the 3 bananas and the wet ingredients all together with a whisk. I paid attention to the reviews of this recipe that complained of "crumbliness;" so I added an egg along with the wet ingredients, and mine did not turn out crumbly at all. Additional changes I made include almonds instead of walnuts, and I added a teaspoon of salt. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I am giving this recipe 5 stars only after several adjustments.1) I doubled the ingredients (except the b. powder)for 2 loaves 2)I used regular white flour instead of pastry flour 3)No walnuts 4)1/2 cup brown sugar 5)Baked the slices of banana on top of the loaves(not folded into batter) 6)Cut oil in half and replaced with applesause....and voila! Moist, slightly sweet banana cornbread! A great way to combine two great breads. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States