Banana Walnut Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is pretty good. I did the recipe exactly as written except I did 3 bananas instead of 2 since I had 3 that were getting ready to go bad. It isn't very sweet, but it is hardy and a nice change from sweet morning breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Recipe was OK. Doubled the recipe and baked in a 9X13 inch pan for 40 minutes. Flavor was a little weird and texture was more on the dry and crumbly side. I did add 2 heaping tbs of sour cream and extra 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup oil to the recipe. I gave the recipes three stars because I was able to use up old bananas and had run out of eggs. It was actualy good warmed with butter and drizzled with extra honey. (By itself, with no extras - not so good). Will not be making thi sagain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
wonderful mix of cornbread and banana bread! like one of the other reviews i just couldn't pick. wonder why i didn't think of baking both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this recipe to get rid of the black bananas I had in my freezer. Loved the bits of banana in the bread. I did not use walnuts, I was out. I did not use an egg like some of the other raters suggested. It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Made as muffins- yummy, but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Made just a few minor changes. Used an egg as recommended. Also used white flour. Baked 50 min in a loaf pan. Sliced up without problems. I like the less sweet taste of this loaf. When making it again I would add a bit of salt to the recipe and try the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I typically hate banana anything, but tried this because i didn't want to toss my bananas and thought my kids might eat it. well i actually love it too! I read the reviews and made these changes, I skipped the third and final banana, used regular bread flour because that's what i had, added an egg, was a little generous on the liquid measurements and used a little imitation almond instead of walnuts due to a nut allergy. I also substituted 3 tablespoons of maple syrup for the honey. My kids and i ate the whole thing in a day. Delicious and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. It's not too sweet (which is a plus for me). it was just a tad bit too crumbly. I think next time I will add an egg just like the reviewers suggested. Overall, it was a very scrumptious cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I added an egg to help with the crumbles everyone was complaining about. The kids really enjoyed this. My husband thought this was good, but just not flavorful enough. I made them as muffins - they took a little over 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I didn't find it necessary to mix the ingredients in a food processor. I just omitted the sliced banana at the end, and mashed and mixed the 3 bananas and the wet ingredients all together with a whisk. I paid attention to the reviews of this recipe that complained of "crumbliness;" so I added an egg along with the wet ingredients, and mine did not turn out crumbly at all. Additional changes I made include almonds instead of walnuts, and I added a teaspoon of salt. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States