Banana Walnut Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I added lite maple syrup instead of honey and about half a cup of brown sugar and it still was not sweet. It was somewhat crumbly as others mentioned because of the gritty cornbread texture. I should have put 3 bananas in the mixture also, rather than 2, but I won't make the recipe again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent! I made the following changes based on reviews: Used 3 mashed banana Used AP flour Subbed 4 tbsp Splenda for Honey Added 1/4 C applesauce Very Moist and nicely sweet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is an AWESOME and healthy recipe! However semicolon I read all the reviews in advance and made what I believe are the necessary changes to make this a win/win no matter what. -I added 1 egg and 1 cup of crushed pineapple -I doubled the honey and cinnamon The addition of the crushed pineapple added the needed moisture to keep the bread from becoming dry AND made the end product something with an easy shelf life of a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I changed it al little 3 mashed bananas, 1 egg and 1/2 C brown sugar...very good but not sweet enough for the hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great recipe for a change from Banana Oatmeal Muffins. This recipe make 6 jumbo muffins perfectly. I added a half teaspoon of salt as we like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I just mashed 3 bananas together and didn't use a blender at all. I also replaced milk with coconut milk, 1/4 cup of coornmeal witn corn flour and added 1/2tsp of salt. I was a bit worried about this bread, because it turned such a rich brown color, but the result was very good. This bread has a crunchy texture due to cornmeal and walnuts, but it gets some moisture from bananas and oil, so it works out pretty good together. It tastes good the next day too. We will be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Good when fresh but is dry after being frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!! The only change I made was using agave nectar instead of honey and coconut oil instead of veg oil. I also added 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce. But the recipe is outstanding. Nice and healthy and filling. I was also able to get more servings that what is listed since it is so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is pretty good. I did the recipe exactly as written except I did 3 bananas instead of 2 since I had 3 that were getting ready to go bad. It isn't very sweet, but it is hardy and a nice change from sweet morning breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Recipe was OK. Doubled the recipe and baked in a 9X13 inch pan for 40 minutes. Flavor was a little weird and texture was more on the dry and crumbly side. I did add 2 heaping tbs of sour cream and extra 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup oil to the recipe. I gave the recipes three stars because I was able to use up old bananas and had run out of eggs. It was actualy good warmed with butter and drizzled with extra honey. (By itself, with no extras - not so good). Will not be making thi sagain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States