Banana Wake-Up Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I was looking for a good breakfast bar that wasn't too sugary for a picky toddler and 13 month. I liked that this had so many hunger holding ingredients. Even many of the healthier boxed cereals have a lot of sugar, so I didn't mind this having a little. My 2 1/2 year old helped me make these, and they were a hit. I was out of wheat germ, so I omitted it. Also, I used wheat flour instead. They were good. Mine were a little crumbly from the wheat flour, so next time I'll add a little veg. oil, honey or more fruit. I made this batch with banana, and it definitely has a strong banana flavor that competes with the peanut butter flavor. I'd say the banana flavor was equal to the peanut butter flavor. I expected them to have a stronger peanut butter flavor. I also expected it to be more sticky or chewy, like a bar, than like a bread or muffin. Even still, I liked it and hope to make them again soon with applesauce. I did add a little nutmeg and cinnamon, because the flavor is more like a cliff bar where its very subtle but not flavor packed. I wouldn't serve this for dessert, but they're great for breakfast with coffee or milk for the little ones. I think its an easy recipe to adjust to your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I had one very ripe banana, so I decided to use this recipe as inspiration. As suggested in other reviews, I used applesauce instead of margarine, whole wheat flour and a bit of cinnamon. I have a favorite "healthy cookie" recipe that starts with a package cookie mix and adds TONS of other things. I did that with these bars. . . I added additional oatmeal, raisins, craisins, coconut and toffee bits. Baked it for 25 minutes in an 8x8" pan. My neighbor and I loved them. The texture is more like a snack cake than a granola bar. I ate mine with my hands with no problems :) 7/23/13 - Ohmigoodness! Inspired by the thought of a banana split, tweaked this recipe today as follows: subbed 3 T. applesauce for margarine, added 1 small can crushed pineapple (drained) and a small handful of chopped maraschino cherries with mashed banana. Added a small handful of coconut, half a bag of Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet baking chocolate chips and some cocoa (eyeballed it). Used mini loaf pans (filled 1/3 full) and baked 25 minutes. EXCELLENT! 2/4/14 - Made these Paleo for my daughter by substituting honey for brown sugar, gluten-free granola instead of oatmeal and almond meal/flour instead of wheat flour. Added raisins, craisins and coconut. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Yes! I had some left over bananas that I wanted to add to a granola bar for the boys. I read all the reviews, here's what I tweaked: I tripled the recipe, I added another cup of oats, another cup of flour, a tsp of cinnamon and used banana extract instead of vanilla. I added both flax and wheat germ. My husband ate it by the forkful before I could even cut it up into bars. I think the only other thing I will add will be a tiny drizzle of almond bark on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
super easy to make and I didn't change a thing except used whole grain white flour and flax seed instead of the wheat germ... THESE ARE DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I give this three stars, because I thought it would be more like a 'bar' less like a banana 'cake' or 'bread' type texture. The taste is powerfully banana and peanutbuttery, mine doesn't look anything like the 4th photo, but more like the 1st and 2nd. I have one daughter who loves this, my other daughter, husband and I, think it's "just ok". Not good or bad, but not something I think we'd eat the whole pan, without the help of my other daughter. 50/50. Oh and I made it exactly as recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Considering how healthy the ingredients are, this recipe is delicious!!! Even NOT considering, really. Most of all, my kids really love them and think it is a "special treat"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
as far as ingredients go..it was really easy...i had everything on hand. i even took some of the others' suggestions & added raisins..etc.. i'm sorry didn't like this @ all...mine turned out crumbly..burnt on top & middle wasn't done (ok maybe an oven prob.) had 2 cover & return to oven. i did follow the recipe...w/ a few tweeks...not making this agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used apple sauce instead of butter, whole wheat flour, accidentally used white sugar instead of brown, and I didn't have wheat germ. I added walnuts, some cinnamon, and craisins and baked as muffins. It is a bit cake-y, but still moist from the apple sauce. I will make these again (with brown sugar)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by these. They had a great flavor. My complaint was that they didn't keep very well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yummy! I put in half the amount of sugar and thought they were still too, sweet. It could have been the bananas. I added about 2 TBS of Nutella along with the peanut butter and instead of the germ, used pulverized mixed nuts. I also added dates, raisins and cranberries. Just delicious! I will make them again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States