Banana Wake-Up Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Yes! I had some left over bananas that I wanted to add to a granola bar for the boys. I read all the reviews, here's what I tweaked: I tripled the recipe, I added another cup of oats, another cup of flour, a tsp of cinnamon and used banana extract instead of vanilla. I added both flax and wheat germ. My husband ate it by the forkful before I could even cut it up into bars. I think the only other thing I will add will be a tiny drizzle of almond bark on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
super easy to make and I didn't change a thing except used whole grain white flour and flax seed instead of the wheat germ... THESE ARE DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I give this three stars, because I thought it would be more like a 'bar' less like a banana 'cake' or 'bread' type texture. The taste is powerfully banana and peanutbuttery, mine doesn't look anything like the 4th photo, but more like the 1st and 2nd. I have one daughter who loves this, my other daughter, husband and I, think it's "just ok". Not good or bad, but not something I think we'd eat the whole pan, without the help of my other daughter. 50/50. Oh and I made it exactly as recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Considering how healthy the ingredients are, this recipe is delicious!!! Even NOT considering, really. Most of all, my kids really love them and think it is a "special treat"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
as far as ingredients go..it was really easy...i had everything on hand. i even took some of the others' suggestions & added raisins..etc.. i'm sorry didn't like this @ all...mine turned out crumbly..burnt on top & middle wasn't done (ok maybe an oven prob.) had 2 cover & return to oven. i did follow the recipe...w/ a few tweeks...not making this agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used apple sauce instead of butter, whole wheat flour, accidentally used white sugar instead of brown, and I didn't have wheat germ. I added walnuts, some cinnamon, and craisins and baked as muffins. It is a bit cake-y, but still moist from the apple sauce. I will make these again (with brown sugar)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by these. They had a great flavor. My complaint was that they didn't keep very well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yummy! I put in half the amount of sugar and thought they were still too, sweet. It could have been the bananas. I added about 2 TBS of Nutella along with the peanut butter and instead of the germ, used pulverized mixed nuts. I also added dates, raisins and cranberries. Just delicious! I will make them again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
The flavor was ok but the texture was the downfall. It tasted like part of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
They taste good, but not amazing. They’re definitely not very flavorful and not like a bar, more like cake as one other reviewer pointed out. I didn’t dislike them, but I was hoping for more banana taste. I would have named them Peanut Butter Breakfast cake or something. Next time, I’m adding an extra banana for a moister, denser, more banana-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States