Banana Wake-Up Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yummy! I put in half the amount of sugar and thought they were still too, sweet. It could have been the bananas. I added about 2 TBS of Nutella along with the peanut butter and instead of the germ, used pulverized mixed nuts. I also added dates, raisins and cranberries. Just delicious! I will make them again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
The flavor was ok but the texture was the downfall. It tasted like part of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
They taste good, but not amazing. They’re definitely not very flavorful and not like a bar, more like cake as one other reviewer pointed out. I didn’t dislike them, but I was hoping for more banana taste. I would have named them Peanut Butter Breakfast cake or something. Next time, I’m adding an extra banana for a moister, denser, more banana-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Added walnuts, used applesauce and a smidge of butter, hoping they will firm up in the fridge :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome after adding a second banana and a 1/3 cup of chocolate chips with the flour. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made these gluten and dairy free!! And they turned out awesome! I just ground up some oats in my food processor until they were the texture of flour. And I used Smart Balance instead of butter. And flax meal instead of wheat germ. I left the rest of the recipe the same -- except I did add more bananas (I used 3) because I needed to get rid of them. I also made them in muffin tins just so they would be smaller portions to freeze! Ok - so I did modify it alot - but still an Awesome recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made these exactly as directed, except for the wheat germ. They tasted very good, but really were not able to be picked up and eaten as bars that easily. I found them to crumble a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This recipes is really great. At first I just want to make something healthy and because this recipe has banana, oat and just a little butter so I think I have to try. But I was very happy with the result that I make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Love these, I've only ever made them once with a banana, and the kids liked them but asked me not to use the bananas again so I only use applesauce from now on. They make a great breakfast early in the morning or a great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These turned out better than I expected! Like a hybrid of banana bread, peanut butter cookies and oatmeal cookies. I used a heaping 1/3c. peanut butter; crunchy-style gave it nice texture. I also added 1Tbl. honey and used whole wheat flour instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States