Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I had a hard time with the waffles not sticking to the waffle iron, even when I liberally sprayed with cooking spray. The batter was okay and I'm sure that it worked well for others, but it just wasn't what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Ahhhhhh. Ok, I didn't exactly follow the recipe - I followed others' advice and mashed the bananas and added them to the waffle batter. BUT, I think it would have turned out worse if I had sliced the bananas and layered them in like the recipe calls for. The batter was so insanely thick. It came apart in the waffle iron, and I had to scrap it out. I thought, maybe I'll add oil..more scrapping. Well, maybe it needs a little more milk...more scrapping...maybe another egg to hold it together...scrapping. More milk? Scrapping. Mind you, I oiled the waffle iron between each attempt. In the end, the batter was much more like traditional waffle batter, with almost 2 cups of milk, and another egg, and maybe 3-4 tbsp of oil. Still it did not work. HOWEVER, the altered batter did make incredible pancakes!!! So, if I do this again, I think I'll just make the pancakes (though, I am tempted to try the original recipe with the layering, just in case it works because it is a much healthier batter). Thank you for ultimately giving me a great banana pancake recipe, at least :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit with my family. I read a few reviews before preparing it and tried some of the alterations. My version used half whole wheat flour, cinnamon, mashed bananas, and a bit of sugar. They were definitely sticky, but it was worth peeling them off the waffle iron. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I put the bananas INTO the waffle mixture. Just mashed them up and then folded them in at the end. I highly reccomend doing this instead because otherwise the waffles sort of tended to burn and not turn out that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Followed the recipe to the letter, only doubling it. I used a fresh banana, thought the waffles should have been sweeter. I might try it again using a ripe banana. Also thought the waffles were a bit soggy as well. I prefer a waffle a bit crisper. I even left them to cook in the waffle iron longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
super yummy!! but would have been better if they were crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I personally liked them, alot! I had to double the recipe, although it turns out I really didn't. This was the first time I ever made waffles with a waffle maker, and the waffles turned out rather very brown. I figured this was the result of mashing the bananas, rather than slicing them. The waffles come out crispy at first, but in the process of keeping them warm, they soften. In my last batch, I added Vanilla Extract, cinnamon, cloves, and more nutmeg. This made the waffles better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I am rating this recipe 5 stars because it was sooooo easy to make. I don't personally care for waffles, but my husband does. He ate every single bit on his plate. I actually even ate one. The banana flavor was just a nice change of pace and since I hate throwing out bananas at the end of the week, this recipe was perfect. FYI: I subbed whole wheat flour (1 for 1)for the white flour and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I thought these were really good. I substitued 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for some of the AP flour and mashed the bananas into the batter. They had a really wonderful flavor and puffed up nicely in my belgian waffle maker. A nice healthy alternative to my usual gut-busting waffle recipe filled with butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made these this morning, and they were delicious! I was only cooking for me, so I halved the recipe, except I only added a pinch of salt (1/4 tsp seemed excessive.) I substituted the flour for whole wheat flour, and I also threw in a couple sprinklings of cinnamon. Instead of mashing the banans, as others have done, I chopped them into little chunks and threw them in with the batter, which worked really well. Overall they turned out great - not too sweet, but with a nice nutty flavor. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States