Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit with my family. I read a few reviews before preparing it and tried some of the alterations. My version used half whole wheat flour, cinnamon, mashed bananas, and a bit of sugar. They were definitely sticky, but it was worth peeling them off the waffle iron. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I put the bananas INTO the waffle mixture. Just mashed them up and then folded them in at the end. I highly reccomend doing this instead because otherwise the waffles sort of tended to burn and not turn out that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Followed the recipe to the letter, only doubling it. I used a fresh banana, thought the waffles should have been sweeter. I might try it again using a ripe banana. Also thought the waffles were a bit soggy as well. I prefer a waffle a bit crisper. I even left them to cook in the waffle iron longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
super yummy!! but would have been better if they were crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I personally liked them, alot! I had to double the recipe, although it turns out I really didn't. This was the first time I ever made waffles with a waffle maker, and the waffles turned out rather very brown. I figured this was the result of mashing the bananas, rather than slicing them. The waffles come out crispy at first, but in the process of keeping them warm, they soften. In my last batch, I added Vanilla Extract, cinnamon, cloves, and more nutmeg. This made the waffles better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I am rating this recipe 5 stars because it was sooooo easy to make. I don't personally care for waffles, but my husband does. He ate every single bit on his plate. I actually even ate one. The banana flavor was just a nice change of pace and since I hate throwing out bananas at the end of the week, this recipe was perfect. FYI: I subbed whole wheat flour (1 for 1)for the white flour and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I thought these were really good. I substitued 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for some of the AP flour and mashed the bananas into the batter. They had a really wonderful flavor and puffed up nicely in my belgian waffle maker. A nice healthy alternative to my usual gut-busting waffle recipe filled with butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made these this morning, and they were delicious! I was only cooking for me, so I halved the recipe, except I only added a pinch of salt (1/4 tsp seemed excessive.) I substituted the flour for whole wheat flour, and I also threw in a couple sprinklings of cinnamon. Instead of mashing the banans, as others have done, I chopped them into little chunks and threw them in with the batter, which worked really well. Overall they turned out great - not too sweet, but with a nice nutty flavor. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Loved them! My 4 year old was thrilled- & we were as well. I switched to 1/2 whole wheat flour/rest AP. Added about 1/2 t. cinnamon & an extra dash nutmeg/mashed the bananas(which were extra ripe). Buttered the non-stick waffle maker & they were still a bit sticky-but well worth the patience to peel them off! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Made the recipe exactly as written and I wasn't particularly impressed by the results. The batter was very thick and I had to add much more milk in order to make it pourable and when cooked they were very dense and a little tough. The flavour was ok, however I think it needed a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States