Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Num num num! I made this a little healthier by subbing half of the regular flour w/ whole wheat. I mashed up the bananas as suggested and added a dash of cinnamon. Topped with 100% pure maple syrup and a dollop of whipped cream. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I'm a little tired of making banana muffins for my little guy, so I decided to try banana waffles. I mashed up the bananas after reading other reviews (actually, my 2 year old did), but other than that followed the recipe. I doubled it, because I make waffles to freeze them for breakfasts for him(waffles go in the car easily!). Turned out great, and my son and husband LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I had a hard time with the waffles not sticking to the waffle iron, even when I liberally sprayed with cooking spray. The batter was okay and I'm sure that it worked well for others, but it just wasn't what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Ahhhhhh. Ok, I didn't exactly follow the recipe - I followed others' advice and mashed the bananas and added them to the waffle batter. BUT, I think it would have turned out worse if I had sliced the bananas and layered them in like the recipe calls for. The batter was so insanely thick. It came apart in the waffle iron, and I had to scrap it out. I thought, maybe I'll add oil..more scrapping. Well, maybe it needs a little more milk...more scrapping...maybe another egg to hold it together...scrapping. More milk? Scrapping. Mind you, I oiled the waffle iron between each attempt. In the end, the batter was much more like traditional waffle batter, with almost 2 cups of milk, and another egg, and maybe 3-4 tbsp of oil. Still it did not work. HOWEVER, the altered batter did make incredible pancakes!!! So, if I do this again, I think I'll just make the pancakes (though, I am tempted to try the original recipe with the layering, just in case it works because it is a much healthier batter). Thank you for ultimately giving me a great banana pancake recipe, at least :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit with my family. I read a few reviews before preparing it and tried some of the alterations. My version used half whole wheat flour, cinnamon, mashed bananas, and a bit of sugar. They were definitely sticky, but it was worth peeling them off the waffle iron. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I put the bananas INTO the waffle mixture. Just mashed them up and then folded them in at the end. I highly reccomend doing this instead because otherwise the waffles sort of tended to burn and not turn out that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Followed the recipe to the letter, only doubling it. I used a fresh banana, thought the waffles should have been sweeter. I might try it again using a ripe banana. Also thought the waffles were a bit soggy as well. I prefer a waffle a bit crisper. I even left them to cook in the waffle iron longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
super yummy!! but would have been better if they were crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I personally liked them, alot! I had to double the recipe, although it turns out I really didn't. This was the first time I ever made waffles with a waffle maker, and the waffles turned out rather very brown. I figured this was the result of mashing the bananas, rather than slicing them. The waffles come out crispy at first, but in the process of keeping them warm, they soften. In my last batch, I added Vanilla Extract, cinnamon, cloves, and more nutmeg. This made the waffles better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I am rating this recipe 5 stars because it was sooooo easy to make. I don't personally care for waffles, but my husband does. He ate every single bit on his plate. I actually even ate one. The banana flavor was just a nice change of pace and since I hate throwing out bananas at the end of the week, this recipe was perfect. FYI: I subbed whole wheat flour (1 for 1)for the white flour and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States