Banana Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I love this recipe because it is so good and simple. I am always asked to bring this to our FRG meetings. The only problem I have found with it, is that I cannot get the whipping cream to form stiff peaks! I have tried and tried, but couldn't get. So I substituted the whipping cream for Cool Whip. Any tips for the whipping cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was so easy and fantastic! Took it for a 4th of July family get together and it was devoured the day before the party! Wonderful and the real whipping cream just added more to the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Just OK, followed directions exactly. It's fine as long as there is no chocolate cake around as an alternate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I quadrupled the recipe for a church dinner, and I thought it tasted good, but I would recommend using vanilla pudding mix instead of banana flavor, which to me has an odd taste. I used Cool Whip instead of real whipped cream, and I did not use the vanilla wafers. It was an easy dessert to serve to a crowd, and I liked the pound cake as a base. I added caramel sauce to the layers of pound cake and drizzled it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this according to the recipe exactly, and it was perfect. It was easy to make, light, and delicious. I'm sure I will be making this again many times in the future ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made this for a potluck and was a real hit! I used a 16 oz pound cake and sliced the bananas on top of the pudding (3 total). Instead of vanilla wafer crumbs, I used toasted pecans which were good, will try it with the crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
needed more fruit - I added 1 cup frozen blueberries and 1 cup raspberries. 2 cups of heavy cream whipped up was plenty and added 1/2 of the powered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rsv
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe!! Not a banana dessert fan but this was superb! I do agree with the others though, it makes a lot of whipped cream so next time i will only make half of what it calls for. Very yummy, family loved it at thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was super easy and delish with a few changes!! I used 1 box of vanilla pudding and 1 box of cheesecake pudding. I also used 3 bananas and a 16oz pound cake. The whipped topping could be cut in half as it would not all fit and I had half a bowl left. Everyone raved and asked for more!! Would even be good with a can of crushed pineapple added I think. TY for a GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
best trifle ever, the cream makes all the difference. I used french vanilla pudding as that's what i had on hand, and added a bit of cinnamon to the cream, rave reviews. this recipe doesn't need any tweaking at all, cinnamon is just a preference i have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States