Banana Stuffed French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I left out the orange liqueur and zest, I didn't have any on hand. Very rich, but delicious. I made a banana and caramel syrup to go with the French toast; which made it almost too rich but very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I took this to a potluck and it was a huge hit. I substituted orange marmalade for the orange liqueur. I forgot the confectioners sugar, even though I intended to use some, but it was sweet enough without it. I ran out of batter, so I had to make more. If I make it again, I will add a little cinnamon and the confectioners sugar. If I make it for a potluck, I may use a thinner French baguette. I used a regular French bread loaf and the servings were really big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. I will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
simple, easy and good. However, neither my husband or I could taste the orange liqueur. I added peanut butter to mine and served it with fruit syrup. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Had only "regular" bread and noted other reviews that said it was difficult to keep the sliced bananas between the pieces of bread while cooking. So I soaked one piece of bread, placed it on a griddle, spread it with mashed banana, then soaked the other piece of bread and placed on top to cook. Problem solved and the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
We made this for Christmas brunch and was a HUGE HIT!! We added cinnamon to the mixture and added cream cheese inside the pockets with bananas. Served it with maple syrup. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I used orange juice in replace of the orange liqueur, and skipped the orange zest as I had no oranges. I only had normal bread and I found trying to keep the bananas and two slices of bread together while cooking was difficult, and it fell apart my first try. Instead, I sprayed another pan on which I put the sliced bananas over low/medium heat, flipping them over after a bit. I did the toast separately. I put the bananas over the French toast, sprinkled some powdered sugar on top and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
FABULOUS! I used orange juice concentrate in place of the orange liqueur, and it is just great! The sliced bananas give a wonderful depth and texture to this recipe. This will be a regular wih us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used an Italian bread loaf, and a few made with regular pieces of bread, and the Italian bread worked out so much better. I took up another reviewer's suggestion and added cream cheese in the middle. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
wow. this was delish. left out the orange liquor and orange zest. Added a dash of chai spice, splash of almond extract and to the finished product cinnamon honey butter (3tbsp butter, 2 tbsp confectioner's sugar and 1 tbsp honey with a dash of cinnamon) will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States