Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Yummy. This is also pretty much a great recipe for a popular Filipino dessert called, "Turon". You can use either the bananas or ripe cooking bananas (also known as Plantains - make sure they're yellow and spotted), which I preferred to use for a sweeter taste. However, if you use Plantains, you'll need more spring roll wrappers. I used 2 Plantains which made about 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
easy. fun. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were GREAT !!! so different, I served them with midnight Cuban Sanwiches >>> big hit . I had never fried with this much oil before, easier than I thought.,Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Served it for guests and family and everyone loved it. My 9 yr old son helped me make them. We broke the bananas in half and rolled them in brown sugar-cinnamon mix. Then rolled the banana in the wrapper and sealed. We made them ahead and put them in plastic wrap in the fridge until it was time to serve dessert. It only takes a few seconds to fry them. I cut them in half after cooling a second. I sliced on a diagonal instead of straight across because then they look prettier on the plate when you stand them up. Served with a scoop of vanilla and a drizzle of caramel sauce. Put blueberries and cut up strawberries around the plate with a sprig of mint and the crowd went wild! We have already made them again! The whole thing went together very quickly! You can dress them up or eat plain, either way they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Quick and easy and absolutely delicious. Great dessert especially if you need it in a hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
These are awesome. My students mother makes these, so we did them a little different. I rolled the bananas in brown sugar. Then when we fried them, It was in a pan of oil with brown sugar added to it. It made a carmelized sugar coating on the outside. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
OK, great variations already, and of course, I had to step it up for my own guilty pleasures! USE EGG ROLL WRAPPERS! USE PLANTAINS! Yummier! I used dark brown sugar on my plantains, then dusted them with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves before rolling. I let them cool BRIEFLY on a paper bag, didn't stick, then placed them on wire racks. Then I drizzled melted dark chocolate in a zig zag design over the tops of the rolls. Slice diagonally and serve with fresh tropical fruit and berries on a powdered sugar dusted platter. To die for, I swear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
what a yummy simple idea. I made a couple with chocolate chips instead of brown sugar, and I even made one with just chocolate chips -no bannana. I will try this with several variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I tried this delicious recipe twice. I used small bananas and cut them in half (not lengthwise). Sprinkled brown sugar under and on top of the banana. The first time I made these they turned out perfect, didn't stick to the paper towels. The second time I was in a bit of a rush and put too much brown sugar in, which made the spring rolls stick to the paper towels, so I did away with the paper towels the second time. Tasted great both times. One other thing, I shallow-fried them in a wok instead of deep frying. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States