Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
What a beautiful photo! What a simple idea. HOWEVER...I would like to title my review of the recipe... Hard Cooking Lessons Learned From The Making of Banana Spring Rolls. 1. No small children in the room during the making of this recipe. (Swearing is inevitable). 2. If you buy the crisp spring roll skins...you need to soak them before trying to wrap the banana. 3. Do not soak them all together. They will stick like a fly on the windshield. 4. Do not soak them too long. They turn into something that resembles somthing that nasty construction workers cough and spit out. 5. Wrap the bananas and seal well. Otherwise, when they hit the oil, out comes the banana, out comes the sugar. 6. Make sure you have everything ready and waiting in it's place. Burning bananas while you are trying to wrap just sucks! Have the paper towels, tongs, and whatever else ready! 7. Rolling these babies in cinnamon and sugar improves this dessert tremendously! 8. Most important tip. Do not bite into hot banana roll! 9. Make sure small children are still out of the room when you decide to ignore my advice and bite into that hot spring roll anyways. This tasted alright but I'm not sure it was worth the mess, swearing and aggravation that ensued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
OK, great variations already, and of course, I had to step it up for my own guilty pleasures! USE EGG ROLL WRAPPERS! USE PLANTAINS! Yummier! I used dark brown sugar on my plantains, then dusted them with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves before rolling. I let them cool BRIEFLY on a paper bag, didn't stick, then placed them on wire racks. Then I drizzled melted dark chocolate in a zig zag design over the tops of the rolls. Slice diagonally and serve with fresh tropical fruit and berries on a powdered sugar dusted platter. To die for, I swear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Served it for guests and family and everyone loved it. My 9 yr old son helped me make them. We broke the bananas in half and rolled them in brown sugar-cinnamon mix. Then rolled the banana in the wrapper and sealed. We made them ahead and put them in plastic wrap in the fridge until it was time to serve dessert. It only takes a few seconds to fry them. I cut them in half after cooling a second. I sliced on a diagonal instead of straight across because then they look prettier on the plate when you stand them up. Served with a scoop of vanilla and a drizzle of caramel sauce. Put blueberries and cut up strawberries around the plate with a sprig of mint and the crowd went wild! We have already made them again! The whole thing went together very quickly! You can dress them up or eat plain, either way they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Yummy. This is also pretty much a great recipe for a popular Filipino dessert called, "Turon". You can use either the bananas or ripe cooking bananas (also known as Plantains - make sure they're yellow and spotted), which I preferred to use for a sweeter taste. However, if you use Plantains, you'll need more spring roll wrappers. I used 2 Plantains which made about 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is pretty good - reminds me of the banana rolls growing up in the Philippines. The only changes I'd do it actually use plaintain (cooking bananas) and jackfruit (sliced and flattened). The jackfruit's already sweet so you don't have to put too much sugar. You can get the bananas and jackfruit at most Asian or ethnic stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
i feel bad rating this 4 instead of 5, because i really enjoyed them and thought this was a quick, unusual dessert. but there is a lot of room for personalization and "improvement". other fruit might be added with the bananas, as might some spices (i think i'll try some cinnamon and/or nutmeg with the bananas, or some allspice with some other fruits). also, mind your manner of wrapping and be sure you seal the rolls so that the oil doesn't saturate the fruit. a great recipe i'm sure i'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
We found it tasty, but we think that for starters a better direction on dough would be welcome. We will do this again with strawberries and will post our comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan & Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
These were so messy and time consuming and not worth the effort. The taste is okay but not like the real thing. My oil was destroyed and I had to soak my tongs for 45 minutes to get them clean. Plus it says to drain them on paper towel but if they stay there any longer than 2 minutes they stick to the paper. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
If you are counting calories, instead of deep frying just bake them for 15 minutes, be sure to brush a little olive or canola oil first so they will be crunchy and to prevent sticking. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
WOW, this is amazing - and so simple, too! I used to go to an expensive restaurant for thes, no i can have them at home! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States