Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Quick and easy and absolutely delicious. Great dessert especially if you need it in a hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Served it for guests and family and everyone loved it. My 9 yr old son helped me make them. We broke the bananas in half and rolled them in brown sugar-cinnamon mix. Then rolled the banana in the wrapper and sealed. We made them ahead and put them in plastic wrap in the fridge until it was time to serve dessert. It only takes a few seconds to fry them. I cut them in half after cooling a second. I sliced on a diagonal instead of straight across because then they look prettier on the plate when you stand them up. Served with a scoop of vanilla and a drizzle of caramel sauce. Put blueberries and cut up strawberries around the plate with a sprig of mint and the crowd went wild! We have already made them again! The whole thing went together very quickly! You can dress them up or eat plain, either way they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were GREAT !!! so different, I served them with midnight Cuban Sanwiches >>> big hit . I had never fried with this much oil before, easier than I thought.,Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Yummy. This is also pretty much a great recipe for a popular Filipino dessert called, "Turon". You can use either the bananas or ripe cooking bananas (also known as Plantains - make sure they're yellow and spotted), which I preferred to use for a sweeter taste. However, if you use Plantains, you'll need more spring roll wrappers. I used 2 Plantains which made about 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is pretty good - reminds me of the banana rolls growing up in the Philippines. The only changes I'd do it actually use plaintain (cooking bananas) and jackfruit (sliced and flattened). The jackfruit's already sweet so you don't have to put too much sugar. You can get the bananas and jackfruit at most Asian or ethnic stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
We found it tasty, but we think that for starters a better direction on dough would be welcome. We will do this again with strawberries and will post our comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan & Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Really easy,fun and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
easy. fun. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I used cinnamon instead of brown sugar. Adding some chocolate chips was a great idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States