Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Oddly sweet, but I used plaintains which in retrospect, I don't thik I care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I made these last night and thought they were delicious and totally simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
The best wrappers to use for these are made in the Philippines; they're called lumpia wrappers and you'll find them in the refrigerator/freezer section of a Filipino/Asian grocery store. They need to be thawed before use. If you're really lucky, you'll find the ones that have wax paper between each wrapper, making it easy to separate. Otherwise, you'll have to be patient and try not to rip them as you separate them. Keep moist by placing a wet paper towel on the ones you're not using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I tried this delicious recipe twice. I used small bananas and cut them in half (not lengthwise). Sprinkled brown sugar under and on top of the banana. The first time I made these they turned out perfect, didn't stick to the paper towels. The second time I was in a bit of a rush and put too much brown sugar in, which made the spring rolls stick to the paper towels, so I did away with the paper towels the second time. Tasted great both times. One other thing, I shallow-fried them in a wok instead of deep frying. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
what a yummy simple idea. I made a couple with chocolate chips instead of brown sugar, and I even made one with just chocolate chips -no bannana. I will try this with several variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
OK, great variations already, and of course, I had to step it up for my own guilty pleasures! USE EGG ROLL WRAPPERS! USE PLANTAINS! Yummier! I used dark brown sugar on my plantains, then dusted them with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves before rolling. I let them cool BRIEFLY on a paper bag, didn't stick, then placed them on wire racks. Then I drizzled melted dark chocolate in a zig zag design over the tops of the rolls. Slice diagonally and serve with fresh tropical fruit and berries on a powdered sugar dusted platter. To die for, I swear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
These are awesome. My students mother makes these, so we did them a little different. I rolled the bananas in brown sugar. Then when we fried them, It was in a pan of oil with brown sugar added to it. It made a carmelized sugar coating on the outside. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
These were ok but I had problems getting the spring roll wrappers to get crispy. I'll definitely be giving this another shot, but next time I'll probably use egg roll wrappers instead of spring roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
What a beautiful photo! What a simple idea. HOWEVER...I would like to title my review of the recipe... Hard Cooking Lessons Learned From The Making of Banana Spring Rolls. 1. No small children in the room during the making of this recipe. (Swearing is inevitable). 2. If you buy the crisp spring roll skins...you need to soak them before trying to wrap the banana. 3. Do not soak them all together. They will stick like a fly on the windshield. 4. Do not soak them too long. They turn into something that resembles somthing that nasty construction workers cough and spit out. 5. Wrap the bananas and seal well. Otherwise, when they hit the oil, out comes the banana, out comes the sugar. 6. Make sure you have everything ready and waiting in it's place. Burning bananas while you are trying to wrap just sucks! Have the paper towels, tongs, and whatever else ready! 7. Rolling these babies in cinnamon and sugar improves this dessert tremendously! 8. Most important tip. Do not bite into hot banana roll! 9. Make sure small children are still out of the room when you decide to ignore my advice and bite into that hot spring roll anyways. This tasted alright but I'm not sure it was worth the mess, swearing and aggravation that ensued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
i feel bad rating this 4 instead of 5, because i really enjoyed them and thought this was a quick, unusual dessert. but there is a lot of room for personalization and "improvement". other fruit might be added with the bananas, as might some spices (i think i'll try some cinnamon and/or nutmeg with the bananas, or some allspice with some other fruits). also, mind your manner of wrapping and be sure you seal the rolls so that the oil doesn't saturate the fruit. a great recipe i'm sure i'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States