Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Super easy! I used wonton wrappers and made them minis because that's all my grocery store had. I cut the banana in thirds and cut each third into quarters. Mixed cinnamon into the brown sugar, wrapped and fried in one inch of oil. They came out fabulous! The brown sugar/cinnamon turns to syrup when cooked. I'm hoping to keep them refrigerated and serve them tomorrow night after warming in the oven. Note: These were not so great after refrigerating and reheating. I recommend eating them right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
at a three star resort, this would be the dessert that was featured on the menu. I enjoyed making them, it was fun. Adding some ice cream made it easier to go down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was pretty good, my daughter liked it better than I did. I used plantains and next time I don't think I'll do that. I'd never had plantains before and I don't think they are my thing. Everything else went great though, they are easy and quick to make. I used lumpia wrappers separated by paper and didn't have any problems with them tearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe. It was similar tasting to a local asian resturant. I too added cinnamon with the brown sugar and drizzled carmel sauce on the plate and served with vanilla bean ice cream. The only problem I had was that I didn't use enough oil. The outside was cooked but some of the inner part of the spring roll was raw (my fault) this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These were really good. One tip for sealing the wraapers. Instead of using water which can cause spatter when frying the rolls, I brush some lightly beaten egg to seal them. It doesn't spatter in the oil. Also I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on the bananas with the brown sugar. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Spring rolls with Plaintains Are Delicious and alot better and less the hassle than these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My 4 year old daughter prepared these. I did the frying. We added cinnamon to the recipe just for an extra step for my little helper and some added flavor. We used wonton wrappers because that's what we had on hand. I fried them once my daughter left the kitchen area. Fried in about one inch of vegetable oil. I turned every 30 seconds or so to ensure even frying since the wrap jobs were not all even. We did have to be careful and wait for them to cool a bit before biting into because the banana inside was extremely hot. Delicious. Eat same day they were not good the next day in my daughter's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjenwest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
The center was delicious! The outside with the spring roll wrappers was difficult to eat. Will try again soon with egg roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I thought this was wonderful! Very easy. I have never even made spring rolls before. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and then drizzled it with honey. Yummy! Can't wait to try it out on the in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Simply delicious! I took the time to find spring roll wrappers made with wheat flour and not rice. The most time consuming thing about preparing this was separating the spring rolls. We didn't use a lot of brown sugar and will use more next time and will also use riper bananas. We sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar as recommended by others and that really adds to the flavor. Try this with cherry pie filling, serve with vanilla ice cream and drizzle with chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States