Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I wanted to give these three and a half stars, but four will suffice. These were pretty good--next time I'll use less brown sugar, for certain. They were way too sweet for me. But for simplicity and the fact that if I'd wanted, I could just make one or ten or two of these, I think they're phenomenal. I added some strawberries to the bowl and I prefered my bites to have strawberries in them, so next time I will add them in before cooking. These fry *really* fast, about five seconds is all they need in the fryer. I didn't realize how fast they'd cook, so I burned my first batch. I'm not sure if everyone's would brown that fast, so just keep an eye on them from the second you put them in. All in all, we enjoyed them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These are FANTASTIC! Use eggroll wrappers rather than spring roll wrappers. Have not had them with ice cream but we will. Also we had them hot not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very tasty, More than that, the commentary from MYKIDSMOM5, was very fresh and funny. I read so many of these and they are, well BORING, but I laughed at this one till I thought I would pee my pants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plum Crazy
Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffy,Lee
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This dessert was easy to make, once I figured out how to peel the sheets apart. It was so good!!! I added strawberries and added powdered sugar and caramel syrup to the top. I served it with vanilla ice cream. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this with my mum and we used rice paper and it did not come out that well, BUT IT WAS YUMMY, =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great spring rolls! I used Banh Trang Spring Roll Skins. I also used cut up bananas sprinkled with sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. I have to soften my spring rolls before I roll them out. So I soaked for a few seconds in warm water 'til "foldable", shaked off excess water then filled and rolled. I made 3 to test them out and I'd recommend cooking them on medium heat because if it's too hot they'll brown quickly without cooking the inner skin. Basically, if their not thoroughly cooked they'll still be rubbery/soft on the inside. I also figured that before frying them, roll them into a mixture of sugar and cinnamon then toss 'em into the fryer. I have tons of spring roll paper to use and a lot of bananas. Gonna be a great treat! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Deelish! made sprinkled the banana with cinnamon sugar first and used wonton skins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toya Pollard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
If you are counting calories, instead of deep frying just bake them for 15 minutes, be sure to brush a little olive or canola oil first so they will be crunchy and to prevent sticking. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
These are Awsome! I used the Rasberry Sauce found on the site and some whipped cream to make them even better. They are much better if you use more banana. I tried them at a Chinese resteraunt and these are almost as good, the only thing that would make them better is a little bit of coconut ice cream (regular ice cream doesn't taste nearly as good). I forgot the brown sugar, it doesn't really need it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were delicious! I followed some other reviewer's suggestions and rolled the banana in a brown sugar/cinnamon mixture before wrapping them. They were so quick to make and everyone loved them. Oh, I also used egg roll wrappers instead of spring roll wrappers...just what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States