Banana Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I didn't follow much of the recipe, so I 4-starred it because I'm not sure what the actual recipe tasted like. LOVE the idea though! Made spring rolls and had some wrappers left over, so I tried this. Mashed up a banana with a fork, added some brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg and baked it at 425 for 20 minutes and they were out of sight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A classic dessert that we love. Either regular bananas or very ripe plaintains can be used. It's all about preference. I also used lumpia wrappers and make sure to use water/flour paste for sealing. Its even more yummy when drizzled with toffee sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Really good and pretty easy. Most important! Use fairly ripe bananas! I like green ones typically but in this recipe they provide no flavor. Cut the bananas into 3 pieces, then cut them in half lengthwise. Take one piece, add a few chocolate chips, roll it once in the eggroll, then add the other side of the half and roll it all up. (So the 1/3 of the banana is split in half but rolled together). Fry at medium high heat. Too low it gets greasy, too high the insides won't get hot. To me, this is the hardest part of the recipe. Just be sure the oil is at med hi heat before putting the eggroll in. It should cook in ~1 minute (keep turning it). Roll in cinnamon sugar or drizzle in chocolate, or caramel sauce...or any combination of the 3. Garnish with raspberries and/or ice cream. Delicious, and believe it or not, fairly easy. Just try it yourself a day or so before a party so u know what you're doing. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
The photo sold me on trying this recipe. However mine didn't look like the photo at all. I used spring roll wrappers (which are also called rice paper) They expanded so much during frying I thought they'd explode so I took them out of the oil before completely crispy. So...they were a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I've made these several times now. If you follow the directions these are super EASY to make and very tasty! The only thing I did different the second time around, was to cut back on the brown sugar and add a pinch of cinnamon. These are always a big hit in my family. I prepare the mixture first, wrap, set aside, heat oil and begin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I think it is pretty with a dollop of ice cream in the middle of the plate, surrounded by the rolls cut in half and standing on the cut side. Then...drizzle with caramel sauce. Add a couple of razberries or strawberries for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
use plantains and egg roll wrap after done serve with melted chocolate. Kids ate it with chocolate pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I used wonyon wrappers instead of spring roll wrappers. So much easier!! Other then that, everything else the same.. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was such a hit with my family. We added a dash of pumpkin pie spice on top & it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States