Banana Split Ice Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This is a very quick and easy to do...recommend that you do not freeze it for 4 hours. Soften ice cream and serve immediately...it is not as hard that way. If you wait the full 4 hours this is as hard as a rock and the pineapple losses its taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
THANK GOODNESS I READ THE REVIEWS FIRST. I MADE IT FOR A GUYS B-DAY AT MY WORK AND I WAS GOING TO MAKE IT AT NIGHT, BUT THE OTHER REVIEWS WERE RIGHT, TO LONG IN THE FREEZER IS NOT THE WAY TO GO. I DID A USED A HERSHEY'S PRE-MADE CRUST, AND USED COOL WHIP AS WELL. THIS WAS A HIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
This dessert is really easy and fun for the working mother. I recommend that this dessert not be placed in the freezer for a period longer than three hours. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Yum! This was great. I omitted the pineapple and used hot fudge in it's place. I also used cool whip instead of whipping cream. The fudge and cool whip freeze nicely, and stay somewhat soft no matter how long they are left in the freezer. This made it easier to work with, and it tasted great! I'll be making this again and again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
So easy and yummy on a hot day. I substituted frozen strawberries for the pineapple. With all of the stuff that you will buy for this recipe, you can make 2 or 3 pies so it is great for big family gatherings. Next time, I will substite cool whip, it makes it easier and a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
My daughter and I had a blast making this, and it was truly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was very messy to make and had I read other reviews, I wouldn't have made it the night before...it was FROZEN solid and lost some flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is really good, I am glad I made it but I won't make it again. I but a layer of fudge on top of the crust a la dairy queen and took out the pineapple and put a layer of caramel and banana's this was really good and easy worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Excellent! We added some chocolate and carmel syrup to the ice cream layer and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made exactly as is this gets 3 stars. I made this for a Saturday afternoon cook-out with family. All members agreed that there were plenty of changes that could be made to turn this into a 5-star recipe. Next time I'll put a layer of chocolate-fudge topping on the bottom and maybe layer vanilla, chocolate and strawberry ice cream as all strawberry was too much strawberry. I also think I'll not put the whipping cream on until serving time so it isn't frozen. It was a nice, cool dessert for a hot summer day, it just needed some "tweaking" to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States