Banana Split Ice Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This is really good but I would suggest a couple of tips for serving. I agree that if you put the pineapple on before putting in the freezer it loses flavor and it is hard to cut after being in the freezer for an extended period of time. First put the pineapple topping on when serving and you don't lose the flavor. Same with whipped topping. Second, especially if using a pre-made crust in a foil pan, remove from freezer for 15-20 minutes and using a regular table knife, run under hot tap water to heat the knife and then cut the pie reheating the knife before each cut. The regular table knife won't cut through the foil like a sharp knife and the minimal amount of water you won't even notice. Just suggestions, Bob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oberlin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I make a silmilar recipe people rave about but instead of ice cream I use vanilla pudding. I also layer strawberries on top of the bananas and pineapples. For the crust I use graham cracker crust. Mine is called banana split pie. Awesome summertime dessert as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I did my own spin on this and everyone loved it. I took a pre made chocolate pie crust then payed the bottom with bananas. Layer of chocolate ice cream with strawberry sundae topping, layer of strawberry ice cream then pineapple sundae topping, layer of French vanilla with fudge topping then the cool whip with cherries and nuts! I froze for 12 hours because the sundae toppings made it runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yyomegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The flavor was ok. Let the ice cream soften to cut but then all ran together when I served it. Not sure if I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made exactly as is this gets 3 stars. I made this for a Saturday afternoon cook-out with family. All members agreed that there were plenty of changes that could be made to turn this into a 5-star recipe. Next time I'll put a layer of chocolate-fudge topping on the bottom and maybe layer vanilla, chocolate and strawberry ice cream as all strawberry was too much strawberry. I also think I'll not put the whipping cream on until serving time so it isn't frozen. It was a nice, cool dessert for a hot summer day, it just needed some "tweaking" to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
very messy. I think it was me not following directions but i would not make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used less pineapple since me and my husband don't care for the canned kind, it was delicious!!! Also, all the recipe says is "whip the cream" but I recommend adding sugar and vanilla extract to the cream while whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Metalcore.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe - very good for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
didnt care for this - it was just like frozen ice cream was NOT a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My family loved it! I used graham cracker pie crust, vanilla ice cream, and omitted the pineapple. I chilled for about 2 hours and it was perfect!.. Served with chocolate syrup, butterscotch, and canned whipped cream on top... I don't think they'll let me quit making this one!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States