Banana Split Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
We made this cookie today in our shop and it turned out great. We quadrupled the recipe and added a hand full of mini chocolate chips, mini butterscotch chips and a half cup of chopped candied cherries. It was delicious and it made a beautiful cookie. Our customers raved. Thanks for a great recipe. I think it's going to be one of our most requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This cookie has a very nice taste and texture. It is more of a little banana nut muffin than a traditional cookie. It is a nice change. I got 4 1/2 dozen from the recipe. The recipe said it only makes 2 1/2 dozen. Mine were regular cookie size (about 1 rounded teaspoonful). A bigger cookie might be more appropriate considering the cake like texture of these. Overall they were good and I will proubaly make them again....especially when I have an abundance of bananas. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I just got done making these. Pretty good but I'd call them mini-cakes rather than cookies...extremely soft. But tasty. Being a nut lover but not mixed with my desserts I processed a jar of marischino cherries & drained them & added them instead of the walnuts. I just wished I had added some chocolate chips as well. Good cookie - will try it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very nice, soft cookie. Kind of like banana bread actually! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
After reading reviews, I decided to bake this batter in my mini-bundt pan. I left out the nuts and cloves, because I didn't have either one. These came out lovely. I sprinkled the tops with butterscotch chips before baking, so they have a butterscotch "crust" in the bottom when you invert the pan. I see this recipe as having great potential for my creative muse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very good cookie... I followed other reviewers suggestions and added 1/2 c. mini chocolate chips, 1/2 c. dried cherries and 1/2 c. chopped nuts. Next time I might add more mashed banana too. Nice to find an alternative to banana bread when you have over-ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This recipe is so easy! To make it a true "Banana Split" cookie, I added chopped dried cherries and chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I am new to baking and will make these for my dance friends and family. Every one loved them. I frosted the cookies with cool whip and cut the cherry into a zig-zag line and they looked like easter eggs! That was what i was going for if you were wondering. I also added cholet chips in thecookie mixture. At first, I thought 30 would be to much, but then I wrote down all the names & realized i might run short! So I did 40 anad 1 extra! Another for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Definitely more cakey than cookie consistency....but people did love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I agree that these cookies are like mini banana bread, but very good. My daughter came home from school and devoured 4 straight away. What more can you ask for. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States