Banana Split Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The biggest merit to this recipe is simplicity and popularity with a wide variety of people! It's a great party dessert and I have made it several times to take to "pot luck" type events.... It goes quickly and everyone love it! I do make minor changes to the basic recipe as it is very flexible and forgiving. I do agree with the person who said that it is probably best to describe it as a "dessert" rather than a "cheesecake"... but calling it a "no-bake cheesecake" is probably a good compromise... It does have that nice "cheesy" taste from the cream cheese, but doesn't have the texture you get in a standard baked cheesecake. Nevertheless, it is really tasty and because it's so sweet - most people really seem to like it. I recommend it if you are looking for something a little different to take to a pot luck. PS You do need to plan on chilling it for at least the recommended four hours, and I would recommend eight... hold off on the chocolate syrup and cherries until just before you serve or "tote" it out the door! The syrup will run and look unattractive. An alternative is to swirl the choc syrup lighly into the top of the whipped topping so that it doesn't run so much. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmwflora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was very good. My boyfriend LOVED it but my brother in law HATED IT! You have to like fruit in your dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Very good! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I do make some changes though. First, I use oreo cookies and blend them smooth and mix with butter to make the crust. I usually use 1.5 times the filling to make a 9x13 size as this goes very quickly. I almost always leave out the whip topping and if I do use it I use ready whip. I have sent this to my husband's work and it was the first thing gone. I have never had anyone say they didn't like it, even children will eat the fruit just to get to the cake & cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
It's a wonderful concept but way to sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Byram, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was fantastic!Used two graham cracker pie crusts, fit great. I used all the sugar and it didn't seem too overwhelming, but may use less since others have with success. I think strawberries would be a great addition! Definitely put the cherries on a paper towel before placing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I make this one all the time, probably 40 times, at least. For pot lucks, parties, Christmas, Thanksgiving, school functions. I always get tons of compliments on this recipe. I've learned to use more butter when making the crust, it comes together better with more butter. I also use twice the amount of pinapple. When I put the cherries on top, I set them out on a paper towel first and kind of dap the juice out a bit so that the juice doesn't turn the whip topping red. This is my favorite dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this for a Christmas gathering and it got rave reviews. Everyone who tried it loved it. The group decided whenever we get together again, I have to bring this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was great. I used half the powdered sugar and added strawberry syrup also. It was perfect. I can imagine with more powdered sugar it would be to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I feel like it's kind of misleading to call this a cheesecake, but the recipe is tasty. I love sweet things so I loved it, but if you don't LOVE sugar you may find this one a bit much. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States