Banana Split Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I used a 9x13 pan, sliced the cake long ways. returned 1/2 slice to the pan. Placed the pudding mixture on the top added bananas little more mix on top of bananas. Replaced the next slice added more bananas spread the cool whip with chopped cherries, drained and squeezed pineapple and 1/2 the nuts together and spread on top. Sprinkle with rest of nuts I added a few 1/4 cherries on top. Leaving it in the pan made it easy to transfer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
made this for my daughters birthday. Everyone said too much cake. Mom and mother in law said they have this recipe and it calls for 1 jiffy yellow cake mix...which is much smaller. Will try that the next time as I agreed with all too much cake. Will use banana pudding instead as well and cut whipped topping in 1/2 since this seemed like overkill on the cake. Used the juice from the crushed pineapple to mix with pudding which helped with flavor and topped with sliced strawberries and drizzled with chocolate sundae syrup and chopped pecans. Still good flavor all in all...but how can you go wrong with bananas, pineapple, strawberries and whipped cream!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
this recipe was FANTASTIC! i had to bring the dessert for a friend's cookout. everyone loved it! i did sunstitute one vanilla pudding with a banana cream pudding per others's suggestions. turned out great!this is a keeper. After everyone got their share of the leftovers, i got mine too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this and served it on the 4th of July but it was MUCH better the next day, after my guests had all gone! So you might want to make this a day ahead. The first day it wasn't so sweet and the flavors had not mixed as well. I made mine with one vanilla pudding and one banana creme pudding. Used fat free whipped topping and also added chocolate shavings as an extra garnish. Looks great and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is fantastic! I followed everyone's advice and used a bigger pan (a must!). I had forgot to put the chocolate syrup and caramel syrup on until after I had put on the whipped topping, so I just drizzeled it on top of the whipped topping and it looked great! Everyone loved this!!! Will definately do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
This is the best! I have made this cake many times over the years and still get rave reviews. I suggest baking the cake in a larger pan. Also, I add sliced strawberries (fresh or frozen) and I drizzle chocolate syrup over the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. Some changes I made.. Made the cake batter in a 9x13 pan. After it cooled I took it out of the pan and sliced it horizontally. Put bottom piece back in the pan. Added ingredients plus I added thin sliced strawberries- put saran wrap over ingredients to push down, put second layer of cake on top. Than I topped it with whip cream made from fresh heavy cream (instead of cool whip.) I did not top it with nuts and cherries- I thought that would be way too much. I did save a piece of the inside of the cake that I crumbled up and scattered on top of the whip cream. My family loved it- adults and kids alike. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is a really good recipe. I only added a couple/changed things. I added Strawberry, Pineapple Ice Cream Topping over the Banana layer. I also added Cream Marshmellow in the jar, NOT the Kraft. This is over in the Ice Cream Topping section in the stores. It is made thinner than the other. I also froze my Banana Split Cake. It does not freeze solid and it is SOOO good this way. I received SO many compliments on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
We loved the taste of this cake! Delicious! I would recommend using a smaller amount of cake batter than what is in a regular yellow cake mix though. When I put all of the ingredients on top of the cooled cake, it was so high that it spilled over the cake pan making it hard to cover. This cake also tates best when it has been refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
If I were rating this on taste, it would be a five star recipe. However, there is one major flaw in the directions: this recipe doesn't say what size cake to bake anywhere in the directions. It simply says to bake according to package directions. (It mentions that the original recipe yields one 9x13 cake). After reading others' reviews, I realized that even a 9x13 cake would not work, since the toppings would quickly tower over the baking dish. I baked the mix in a half-sheet pan for 25 minutes. After cooling, I cut it and put it into one 9x13 and one 8x8 pan (I had some cake left over). I followed the topping directions, but used one box of vanilla and one box of cheesecake pudding. I used pecans for the top of the cake and added shaved milk chocolate (candy bar). I did cut the cherries in half before adding them to the cake. I found that I needed to use four bananas instead of three, probably because I was making two cakes. Made this way, the cake had a good amount of topping on a good amount of cake, and I was still able to cover it for travel. If I had baked a 9x13 cake and put all that topping on just that cake, it would have been impossible to take it anywhere. My coworkers devoured this and were asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States