Banana Split Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this and served it on the 4th of July but it was MUCH better the next day, after my guests had all gone! So you might want to make this a day ahead. The first day it wasn't so sweet and the flavors had not mixed as well. I made mine with one vanilla pudding and one banana creme pudding. Used fat free whipped topping and also added chocolate shavings as an extra garnish. Looks great and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. Some changes I made.. Made the cake batter in a 9x13 pan. After it cooled I took it out of the pan and sliced it horizontally. Put bottom piece back in the pan. Added ingredients plus I added thin sliced strawberries- put saran wrap over ingredients to push down, put second layer of cake on top. Than I topped it with whip cream made from fresh heavy cream (instead of cool whip.) I did not top it with nuts and cherries- I thought that would be way too much. I did save a piece of the inside of the cake that I crumbled up and scattered on top of the whip cream. My family loved it- adults and kids alike. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is a really good recipe. I only added a couple/changed things. I added Strawberry, Pineapple Ice Cream Topping over the Banana layer. I also added Cream Marshmellow in the jar, NOT the Kraft. This is over in the Ice Cream Topping section in the stores. It is made thinner than the other. I also froze my Banana Split Cake. It does not freeze solid and it is SOOO good this way. I received SO many compliments on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was a huge hit! I made the following changes: used 1 pkg. vanilla and 1 pkg. cheesecake pudding per other suggestions, I used strawberry cool whip for topping, then topped with sliced strawberries and drizzled with chocolate sundae syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I took this wonderful cake to a Good Friday crawfish boil. I made the following changes (thank you to all previous reviewers!) I made six cupcakes to use some of the batter - and my 13 X 9 pan was still full (after all the layers) I used one pckg of french vanilla and one cheesecake pudding instead of the two vanilla puddings. On top of the cool whip layer I used sweet Louisiana strawberries instead of cherries. On top of this I drizzled caramel topping and chocolate topping (the kind you put on ice cream). I made it the day before I served it. This cake was a huge hit at the party. I highly recommend this cake! (several people requested the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Try using a cheese cake pan and a cake pan of same diameter. Use 1 and freeze one for future use. You must readjust the cream cheese mixture and pudding mix but not the milk. I also added a layer of strawberry slices. If you press down with a sheet of plastic wrap after you finish layering the cake it will absorb the favor and cut more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I MADE THIS FOR THANKSGIVING AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. IT IS VERY EASY, I TOOK EVERYONES ADVICE AND DIDN'T USE ALL THE CAKE MIX AND IT TURNED OUT JUST PERFECT. NEXT TIME IM GOING TO USE STRAWBERRIES INSTEAD OF CHERRIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
My cousin made this as one of her desserts for Thanksgiving. It was AWESOME!! I will definitely make this. I will probably use something else instead of cherries, only because I don't like cherries, however, this recipe is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe. If you use a 9 x 13, I suggest you substitute Jiffy yellow cake mix box to get a smaller amount or use a 10 x 15 inch pan. I used a trifle bowl and it was awesome. Made a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is fantastic! I followed everyone's advice and used a bigger pan (a must!). I had forgot to put the chocolate syrup and caramel syrup on until after I had put on the whipped topping, so I just drizzeled it on top of the whipped topping and it looked great! Everyone loved this!!! Will definately do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States