Banana Split Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was a huge hit! I made the following changes: used 1 pkg. vanilla and 1 pkg. cheesecake pudding per other suggestions, I used strawberry cool whip for topping, then topped with sliced strawberries and drizzled with chocolate sundae syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I took this wonderful cake to a Good Friday crawfish boil. I made the following changes (thank you to all previous reviewers!) I made six cupcakes to use some of the batter - and my 13 X 9 pan was still full (after all the layers) I used one pckg of french vanilla and one cheesecake pudding instead of the two vanilla puddings. On top of the cool whip layer I used sweet Louisiana strawberries instead of cherries. On top of this I drizzled caramel topping and chocolate topping (the kind you put on ice cream). I made it the day before I served it. This cake was a huge hit at the party. I highly recommend this cake! (several people requested the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Try using a cheese cake pan and a cake pan of same diameter. Use 1 and freeze one for future use. You must readjust the cream cheese mixture and pudding mix but not the milk. I also added a layer of strawberry slices. If you press down with a sheet of plastic wrap after you finish layering the cake it will absorb the favor and cut more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I MADE THIS FOR THANKSGIVING AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. IT IS VERY EASY, I TOOK EVERYONES ADVICE AND DIDN'T USE ALL THE CAKE MIX AND IT TURNED OUT JUST PERFECT. NEXT TIME IM GOING TO USE STRAWBERRIES INSTEAD OF CHERRIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
My cousin made this as one of her desserts for Thanksgiving. It was AWESOME!! I will definitely make this. I will probably use something else instead of cherries, only because I don't like cherries, however, this recipe is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe. If you use a 9 x 13, I suggest you substitute Jiffy yellow cake mix box to get a smaller amount or use a 10 x 15 inch pan. I used a trifle bowl and it was awesome. Made a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is fantastic! I followed everyone's advice and used a bigger pan (a must!). I had forgot to put the chocolate syrup and caramel syrup on until after I had put on the whipped topping, so I just drizzeled it on top of the whipped topping and it looked great! Everyone loved this!!! Will definately do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Best cake I've made in years! I used French Vanilla and cheesecake flavors instant pudding, poured chocolate syrup over bananas and pineapple, topped with French Vanilla Cool Whip and quarted strawberries and mini-oreo cookies. This is an A+ keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I took other reviewers' advice and used a larger pan and added more milk to cream cheese/pudding mixture. I also added strawberries and drizzled chocolate syrup (over the bananas)and drizzled a little more chocolate over the whipped topping just before serving. Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This cake was wonderful! I used a chocolate chip cake the second time I made it, and that added the one thing I thought was missing the first time. Yum! I normally don't like cake icing, but have used this icing recipe on other cakes and it works great for all flavors of pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States