Banana Split Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
LOVE THIS CAKE, I MADE IT FOR CHRISTMAS AND NEWYEARS, GREAT HIT!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
YUMMY!! This is such a fabulous dessert! It was our 4th of July dessert and our guests ended up taking the recipe (and a plate full) home with them. I used 2/3 of the cake batter and one box of banana cream pudding and one box of vanilla w/ chocolate chips pudding in place of 2 vanilla's. I added slices of strawberries on top of the bananas. It was delicious the next day too, if not even better! Remember to refrigerate any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tombstone, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
made this for my daughters birthday. Everyone said too much cake. Mom and mother in law said they have this recipe and it calls for 1 jiffy yellow cake mix...which is much smaller. Will try that the next time as I agreed with all too much cake. Will use banana pudding instead as well and cut whipped topping in 1/2 since this seemed like overkill on the cake. Used the juice from the crushed pineapple to mix with pudding which helped with flavor and topped with sliced strawberries and drizzled with chocolate sundae syrup and chopped pecans. Still good flavor all in all...but how can you go wrong with bananas, pineapple, strawberries and whipped cream!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
FANTASTIC!!! Loved this recipe, have made it a few times, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I took this to a housewarming party and it was a crowd pleaser. I did make some changes, for personal taste, suggested by other reviewers. I used one package of cheesecake instant pudding and one package of french vanilla instant pudding. I also used strawberries instead of cherries. I drizzled chocolate syrup on top right before serving. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was a big success! I made the cake in a 10x15x1 pan and skipped the nuts due to personal taste. Next time I think I may try using cheesecake pudding mix. Easy and a crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent!! My changes - instead of 2 vanilla puddings, I used one chocolate (you have to add chocolate somewhere in this recipe!) and one cheesecake, which was scrumptious in itself! Then, used strawberry cool whip for topping, followed by the nuts and strawberries, instead of cherries. Tasted amazing, and held together so much better than I thought it would! BIG hit with everyone at party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
this recipe was FANTASTIC! i had to bring the dessert for a friend's cookout. everyone loved it! i did sunstitute one vanilla pudding with a banana cream pudding per others's suggestions. turned out great!this is a keeper. After everyone got their share of the leftovers, i got mine too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this and served it on the 4th of July but it was MUCH better the next day, after my guests had all gone! So you might want to make this a day ahead. The first day it wasn't so sweet and the flavors had not mixed as well. I made mine with one vanilla pudding and one banana creme pudding. Used fat free whipped topping and also added chocolate shavings as an extra garnish. Looks great and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. Some changes I made.. Made the cake batter in a 9x13 pan. After it cooled I took it out of the pan and sliced it horizontally. Put bottom piece back in the pan. Added ingredients plus I added thin sliced strawberries- put saran wrap over ingredients to push down, put second layer of cake on top. Than I topped it with whip cream made from fresh heavy cream (instead of cool whip.) I did not top it with nuts and cherries- I thought that would be way too much. I did save a piece of the inside of the cake that I crumbled up and scattered on top of the whip cream. My family loved it- adults and kids alike. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States