Banana Split Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I made this for my banana lovin' niece who turned 7 on friday. Because the kids all swarmed around the cake, and then devoured it, I didn't get to try it, but they said it was "really, really good". Before I added the whipped topping, I drizzled a 7.25 oz. bottle of "Twix Magic Shell" (made by Smuckers) over the bananas, put it in the frige to harden and then added the whipped topping. Oh and I also soaked the sliced bananas in the pineapple juice to prevent browning. Thank you so much Judy, my nieces & nephews once again think that I'm the bomb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This is a delish and easy recipe. I used Graham cracker crumbs and 3 T sugar instead of the vanilla wafer crackers. My husband took one bite and said "OH MY GOSH!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My co-worker found this recipe and brought it to work. Makes ALOT, served 10 pple for two days of dessert. I will be savoring the last serving of this weeks' run tomorrow. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! Oh, let me just say to put pineapple in strainer. First time I didn't drain sufficiently and it made dessert a bit too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I have been using a recipe very similar to this one for years and it gets rave reviews every time. One IMPORTANT detail that gets over looked is to save the pineapple juice and cut your bananas into the juice and allow them to sit in there for a few min. This will keep the bananas from turning brown and keep it fresher looking longer. also it is important to squeeze the pineapple to get ALL the juice out not just let the juice drain out using gravity. Plus you can then drink the pineapple banana combo for good health. Another good tip is to freeze the "crust" part before putting on your cream cheese layer, this will make it easier to spread as it keeps the crust in place. another spin on the cake is to use gramcrackers as opposed to vanilla wafers. but both are equally good, its all preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardjrt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
OUTSTANDING! Made this for Memorial Day picnic - what a hit! It ALL went! I added banana cream pudding made from package directions and poured over pineapples. Everyone wants this recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is FABULOUS!!! You can use crushed graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers & drizzle chocolate syrup over the cherries for added flavor. I do Weight Watchers, so I used fat free everything & it was still MMMM..sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Delicious! We made this recipe but used 2 pkgs of cream cheese. Nothing else changed and it was a hit! Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This recipe is so yummy! I made it for a friend's birthday, and now I've been asked to make it for other people's birthdays!!! The only thing I'd adjust would be to double the confectioner's sugar/cream cheese mixture. This has such a refreshing taste that it's just perfect for warm weather. Heck, any weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is excellent and easy! I crushed and mixed the walnuts with the crust, instead of on top. I also used 3 large bananas instead of the 6 listed on the recipe. I will be making this one time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Family and friends are all asking me for the recipe. Fantastic and sinfull. Used light cream cheese and frozen whipped topping. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States