Banana Split Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
For the crust, I add a 1/4 cup of sugar, and for the buttercream, I skip the raw eggs and add in a tablespoon of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla instead which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
A great cook I worked with shared pretty much this same recipe with me in 1974, and I've made this many times since. Yes, it's rich, but it's delicious. Just small differences between the two recipes, but after reading this recipe I think I'll continue to make it the way I have been all these years. I add 3 T. sugar to the crust. And I guess I've always saved five minutes, since I've beat the buttercream 15 minutes and it's always been great. Back then I didn't have a stand mixer, so I'll bet even 15 minutes of beating isn't necessary if you do use one. I use 3-5 bananas, sliced into coins. I don't drain the pineapple -- why waste the good juices? I cook the undrained pineapple with 1 T. cornstarch over medium heat till thickened, then cool and spread over the filling. I don't use strawberries only because I know they can get "oozie" and watery as the dessert stands. After topping with the Cool Whip (a 12 oz. container is plenty) I garnish the top with finely chopped nuts and maraschino cherries. This dessert is to-die-for good, but VERY rich, so serve in small pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This can be made with frozen egg substitute. Taste just as great. Usually one small carton contains the equivalent of 2 eggs, just enough for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I really love this dessert. My aunt used to make it for summer family gatherings when I was a kid. I was excited when I found this version online. My aunt always used Cool Whip (like the recipes says) for the top, but I went ahead and whipped fresh cream (heavy whipping cream, 2 Tblsp. vanilla, 2 Tblsp. powdered sugar). I think it makes all the difference :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My family has been making this for years and we LOVE it! We slice the bananas into thin slices and use chopped pecans on the top. Like another reviewer stated I use halved cherries on top as well. Another idea is to use chopped pistachios. This is a GREAT dessert for a pot luck...it will be gone before you know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
The fruit made this light and refreshing, but I found the raw margarine cream a bit nauseating. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is a very good, nice summer cake!!! I forgot to drain the pineapple, so mine isn't quite so appealing looking, but that's my own fault and not the fault of the recipe. Was going to take this in to work, but wouldn't after my faux pas. I will definately try another one to share at work,t hough, this time remembering to follow directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This is a great "cake"...It's tried and true. I lost my original recipe and glad I found this one online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
A great recipe, but WAY too rich. We had two slices and froze the rest. Made my eyes roll into the back of my head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I loved this cake! The kids helped to make it and we had a lovely time. The cake was delicious, but was really more of a pudding, or even a pie. It sure tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States