Banana Split Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I loved this cake! The kids helped to make it and we had a lovely time. The cake was delicious, but was really more of a pudding, or even a pie. It sure tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
Gets great reviews everytime I use it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I really love this dessert. My aunt used to make it for summer family gatherings when I was a kid. I was excited when I found this version online. My aunt always used Cool Whip (like the recipes says) for the top, but I went ahead and whipped fresh cream (heavy whipping cream, 2 Tblsp. vanilla, 2 Tblsp. powdered sugar). I think it makes all the difference :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This can be made with frozen egg substitute. Taste just as great. Usually one small carton contains the equivalent of 2 eggs, just enough for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
A great recipe, but WAY too rich. We had two slices and froze the rest. Made my eyes roll into the back of my head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This cake is easy to make and tastes great. Relatives are always asking when I'll make it again. Do follow the instructions closely when making the buttercream though; it isn't the right consistency unless you go the full 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is a very good, nice summer cake!!! I forgot to drain the pineapple, so mine isn't quite so appealing looking, but that's my own fault and not the fault of the recipe. Was going to take this in to work, but wouldn't after my faux pas. I will definately try another one to share at work,t hough, this time remembering to follow directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALLONHEATHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This is a great "cake"...It's tried and true. I lost my original recipe and glad I found this one online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Just like mom used to make. Very rich, delicious summer dessert. Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States