Banana Split Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I drizzled with melted chocolate chips but I won't next time because it's not needed. The cake is perfect as the recipe stands.Cut into small pieces when serving because it's very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
A great cook I worked with shared pretty much this same recipe with me in 1974, and I've made this many times since. Yes, it's rich, but it's delicious. Just small differences between the two recipes, but after reading this recipe I think I'll continue to make it the way I have been all these years. I add 3 T. sugar to the crust. And I guess I've always saved five minutes, since I've beat the buttercream 15 minutes and it's always been great. Back then I didn't have a stand mixer, so I'll bet even 15 minutes of beating isn't necessary if you do use one. I use 3-5 bananas, sliced into coins. I don't drain the pineapple -- why waste the good juices? I cook the undrained pineapple with 1 T. cornstarch over medium heat till thickened, then cool and spread over the filling. I don't use strawberries only because I know they can get "oozie" and watery as the dessert stands. After topping with the Cool Whip (a 12 oz. container is plenty) I garnish the top with finely chopped nuts and maraschino cherries. This dessert is to-die-for good, but VERY rich, so serve in small pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I.ve made this recipe for thirty years! It's one of our faves. I do cut the confectioner's sugar back to 1 -1/2cups, because I think it is a little too sweet with two cups. I,ve had many requests for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I love this recipe. I make it all of the time. I use a box of crushed vanilla wafers instead of graham crackers for the crust. I also put the strawberries on top of the whip cream to decorate the cake because it tastes the same but looks prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been making excuses to eat this cake morning, noon, and night! Haha. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This cake was AWESOME! I always take samples of new things I try to my family and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My family has been making this for years and we LOVE it! We slice the bananas into thin slices and use chopped pecans on the top. Like another reviewer stated I use halved cherries on top as well. Another idea is to use chopped pistachios. This is a GREAT dessert for a pot luck...it will be gone before you know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I love this dessert too. If you love cherries, I put a can of cherry pie filling in stead of strawberries . . . and don't forget to drizzle some chocolate on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
First of all, I used real butter(don't like margarine). Sliced bananas into coins, and put on that way, used about 5 bananas. I only had one 8 oz. tub of cool whip, so that is all I used. Put chopped pecans on top because that's what I had in the cupboard. Also put sliced maraschino cherries, and drizzled chocolated syrup on top. Took to work and did not last long at all. Very, very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Awesome, it's my husband's favorite dessert. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States