Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Wonderful!!! Made it in apre-made graham cracker crust the first time and split the recipe in half because that is what I had on hand. Everybody loved it----it was gone in just a few minutes. Making it again today as the recipe instructs so that there will be more to share. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Pam, Pam, Pam...WOW! This is so easy and really delicious. I cut it in half and made it in an 8 x 8 Pyrex dish for the 2 of us. I melted the butter in the microwave in the Pyrex dish and then added the sugar and cracker crumbs. Worked great. I put the bananas into some lemon juice to prevent browning. So, if we "eat with our eyes", this was gobbled up in record time!! Thank you for a great summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is the best dessert to make ahead and freeze. I have been making it for years in an oblong tupperware save & store container. take out half an hour before serving. FIVE STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Everyone really enjoyed this dessert. Used Low fat cream cheese and whip cream to make it "healthier" I would definitely make it again. I halved the recipe, and half fits great in a pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I have made this many times and it is always a hit. I do make a couple of additions. In order to make it more like a banana split, I add strawberries (either fresh or frozen...whatever I have on hand) when I add the pineapple and bananas. Then after adding the nuts and cherries, I drizzle Hersey's chocolate syrup over the whole thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Mm-mm, good! I was out of graham crackers, so substituted vanilla wafers. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. It was a hit at our family Easter dinner. I'll be making this one again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at work. Everyone LOVED it! I am giving it 5 stars for this reason even though my family and I were not crazy about it. Also, I did alter it a bit and I don't think it is fair to rate a recipe low when you have altered the original because it is not being judged by the true recipe. I put this in a pre-made graham crust vs making bars. I used real whipping cream vs Cool Whip. And I added 1 stick real butter to the cream cheese mixture. Then used a large can crushed pineapple, well drained and mixed it into the cream cheese mixture vs putting it on top. I laid fresh sliced strawberries (since they are in a real banana split) along with the sliced bananas. Made my fudge sauce with cocoa, melted butter, confectioners sugar and milk whisked all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe for a New Years Eve snack and it was delicious. We tried to break into it before it sat for a full 6 hours and it was hard to eat, but when we tried it again at the 6 hour mark it was perfect! Very creamy and fruity and can easily be tweaked to personal tastes! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made this for church and doubled the recipe so there was one for each table. It was a huge hit, everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. This is a definate keeper. Next time I will decrease the sugar in the crust, I used both plain graham crackers with cinnamon graham crackers since I didn't have enough plain. The hit of cinnamon added to the flavors. The only changes I made were to omit the walnuts- I have a nut allergy. I used homemade whipped cream- so much better than store bought. I also drizzled fudge over it since I had a huge can in the fridge. Best desert I have made lately. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Made this for my cowrkers...they loved it and I am constantly asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States