Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Wonderful!!! Made it in apre-made graham cracker crust the first time and split the recipe in half because that is what I had on hand. Everybody loved it----it was gone in just a few minutes. Making it again today as the recipe instructs so that there will be more to share. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Pam, Pam, Pam...WOW! This is so easy and really delicious. I cut it in half and made it in an 8 x 8 Pyrex dish for the 2 of us. I melted the butter in the microwave in the Pyrex dish and then added the sugar and cracker crumbs. Worked great. I put the bananas into some lemon juice to prevent browning. So, if we "eat with our eyes", this was gobbled up in record time!! Thank you for a great summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is the best dessert to make ahead and freeze. I have been making it for years in an oblong tupperware save & store container. take out half an hour before serving. FIVE STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Everyone really enjoyed this dessert. Used Low fat cream cheese and whip cream to make it "healthier" I would definitely make it again. I halved the recipe, and half fits great in a pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I have made this many times and it is always a hit. I do make a couple of additions. In order to make it more like a banana split, I add strawberries (either fresh or frozen...whatever I have on hand) when I add the pineapple and bananas. Then after adding the nuts and cherries, I drizzle Hersey's chocolate syrup over the whole thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Mm-mm, good! I was out of graham crackers, so substituted vanilla wafers. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. It was a hit at our family Easter dinner. I'll be making this one again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at work. Everyone LOVED it! I am giving it 5 stars for this reason even though my family and I were not crazy about it. Also, I did alter it a bit and I don't think it is fair to rate a recipe low when you have altered the original because it is not being judged by the true recipe. I put this in a pre-made graham crust vs making bars. I used real whipping cream vs Cool Whip. And I added 1 stick real butter to the cream cheese mixture. Then used a large can crushed pineapple, well drained and mixed it into the cream cheese mixture vs putting it on top. I laid fresh sliced strawberries (since they are in a real banana split) along with the sliced bananas. Made my fudge sauce with cocoa, melted butter, confectioners sugar and milk whisked all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe for a New Years Eve snack and it was delicious. We tried to break into it before it sat for a full 6 hours and it was hard to eat, but when we tried it again at the 6 hour mark it was perfect! Very creamy and fruity and can easily be tweaked to personal tastes! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made this for church and doubled the recipe so there was one for each table. It was a huge hit, everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. This is a definate keeper. Next time I will decrease the sugar in the crust, I used both plain graham crackers with cinnamon graham crackers since I didn't have enough plain. The hit of cinnamon added to the flavors. The only changes I made were to omit the walnuts- I have a nut allergy. I used homemade whipped cream- so much better than store bought. I also drizzled fudge over it since I had a huge can in the fridge. Best desert I have made lately. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Made this for my cowrkers...they loved it and I am constantly asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States