Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Delicious! But don't use fat-free cream cheese or it comes out too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this in a large graham pie crust and it was great. Not too sweet, very easy and satisfies the banana split craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
These were pretty good. We have some non pineapple loves in the house so next time I will use strawberry's. I topped with candy coated pecans from this in stead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was not my favorite - after I started making it, I realized the cream cheese layer wasn't cooked to set. I was worried about it tasting slimey, and sure enough, that is exactly how it seemed to me. I would maybe add sour cream & eggs to the cream cheese layer and cook it to turn it into a cheesecake and then put the toppings on. Or maybe just put a layer of pudding in there instead of the cream cheese. However beyond that, the whole thing was just way too sweet. The pineapple really overwhelmed it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
MMMMMMMMM!! Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Creamy, mellow, fruity and not too sweet, this is easy to make and not so rich that you can't enjoy a piece right after dinner. It's only flaw is the frozen whipped topping. This would have been so much better both in taste and appearance with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Excellent and easy recipe. I made it exactly like the recipe calls for. Got rave reviews from my very picky family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This sounded a bit strange but I wanted to try it based on the reviews and it was wonderful!! I have made it twice (half batches in an 8x8 pan) - one time the crust stuck and one time it didn't, I'll probably grease the pan next time and add a bit more butter. The second time I added just a few dashes of salt to the crust which really brought out the other flavors. I also used fresh pineapple just because I had some - yum. I omitted the cherries because I find the flavor too dominant but would definitely try fresh strawberries as another reviewer suggested. This would work with pretty much any fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I personally hate banana split sundaes, but my husband loves them. I made this recipe for a Little League fundraiser 3 months ago and I am still having people come up and ask me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Sadly this didn't work for me. It tasted really good but my crust all stuck to the bottom of the pan. I could not cut it into squares so we had to scoop it out. Needless to say I was a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States