Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I think this recipe would be fine as written, however I made 1/2 recipe for Italian Cheescake (on this site)...baked that and then kinda sorta followed the rest of this. I did drizzle chocoloate syrup over all. Great idea you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a great dessert! I made it exactly according to the recipe and it turned out wonderful. You could really use just about any fruit--cherries or any kind of berry would be awesome. I used the tip someone posted to dip the banana slices in the drained pineapple juice to keep them from turning brown, and it worked great. I would normally use lemon juice, but that flavor might be too noticeable in the dessert. Reusing the juice was a great idea. This will definitely become one of my go-to desserts for potlucks and family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lamont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Came out alright. The crust didn't hold together... More butter needs to be used. I added more bananas than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This review is definitely for people who appreciate changes. I was looking for a recipe that could be made with fat-free cream cheese and cover the flavor of it (made the mistake of buying it). I added chopped walnuts to the crust. For the cream cheese layer, I used powdered sugar, a little whipping cream, and almond extract (stronger than vanilla). I left the banana and pineapple layers alone. I made my own whipped cream with powdered sugar and almond extract. I didn't top the dessert with anything as I had no walnuts left and no cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made a pie for this since it is only hubby and I. The flavors were pretty good but I don't think I creamed the cheese enough as it was hard and messy to spread. I did think it was missing just a little something but not sure what that was. I'll go back and read other reviews to see if there are other changes I might want to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made this years ago and my daughter tells me it is her favorite ever! She asked again this year. It is fruity, creamy, colorful & easy to make, enjoyed by most everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I have made this 3 times already its a hit. I also add 1/4 cup cocoa to make a chocolate pie with chocolate syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
extremely easy recipe and very tasty! made it for a holiday party and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
TIP: Save the juice from the pineapple to dip the sliced banana in and it will help keep the bananas from turning so fast. I do this with most all my fruit that will turn like peaches, apples, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Gary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! Made it just the way the directions said...no changes necessary!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States