Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I did cut the sugar a bit- seemed like so much! I dipped the banana in reserved pineapple juice to prevent browning and added sliced strawberries. This was good enough to make again- a nice summer dessert. Just didn't WOW me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was a huge success! Everyone loved it! I used two pre-made graham crusts. Everything else was to a "t". :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Rating this 4 based on taste. It was delicious. My only drawback was the the crust didn't hold together and crumbled and the banana's turned brown very quickly. That being said, I served it with a spoon instead of a spatula and the bananas still tasted great despite their color. I will make again for a party where it will get eaten at once. I may even put in a trifle bowl too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is delicious!! Made it for a family gathering & the pan was empty within a minute of setting it on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was a real hit at a recent get together. I made 2 small changes and anticipate 1 other based on feedback from family and friends. I make whipped cream rather than use frozen store bought. I find real whipped cream holds form much better and the vanilla flavor really comes through. I also added shaved dark chocolate to the topping after the nuts and before the cherries. The only other modification is the addition of a strawberry layer which I intend to try the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We made these as two pies (using pre-made graham cracker crusts), substituted salted peanuts for the walnuts, and added whipped topping to the cream cheese mixture since I only had 8 oz. of cream cheese on hand. I thought it did need the whole 16 oz. of cream cheese, but even so, these pies were amazing! We couldn't stop eating them. I also dipped the banana slices in the pineapple juice and that totally kept them from browning. What a great trick! Thanks, Pam, for such a refreshing and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I think this recipe would be fine as written, however I made 1/2 recipe for Italian Cheescake (on this site)...baked that and then kinda sorta followed the rest of this. I did drizzle chocoloate syrup over all. Great idea you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a great dessert! I made it exactly according to the recipe and it turned out wonderful. You could really use just about any fruit--cherries or any kind of berry would be awesome. I used the tip someone posted to dip the banana slices in the drained pineapple juice to keep them from turning brown, and it worked great. I would normally use lemon juice, but that flavor might be too noticeable in the dessert. Reusing the juice was a great idea. This will definitely become one of my go-to desserts for potlucks and family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lamont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Came out alright. The crust didn't hold together... More butter needs to be used. I added more bananas than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This review is definitely for people who appreciate changes. I was looking for a recipe that could be made with fat-free cream cheese and cover the flavor of it (made the mistake of buying it). I added chopped walnuts to the crust. For the cream cheese layer, I used powdered sugar, a little whipping cream, and almond extract (stronger than vanilla). I left the banana and pineapple layers alone. I made my own whipped cream with powdered sugar and almond extract. I didn't top the dessert with anything as I had no walnuts left and no cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States