Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
I tried making this recipe in cupcake form instead, and it turned out great! Just grease and flour the muffin tins, and only bake it for 15 min. at the same temp. It makes 24 cupcakes, but make sure you ice them once they've cooled, or else they get REALLY messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
MMMmmmm!!! These were the most delicious banana bars! I followed the directions and ingredients for the batter to a "T". The bars rose up a bit while baking and smelled like "bananas" in my house. They were done in 35 minutes. The bars had a light brown color with flecks of maraschino cherries baked in. I set the bars aside to cool while I made the frosting. Instead of vanilla extract I replaced it with banana extract for more banana flavor. I added the confectioner's sugar, to taste, and the milk, to desired consistency. After I frosted the bars I sprinkled some finely chopped walnuts. The bars were moist, flavorful and just banana-y good! The bars look and taste more like a light and airy banana cake (not bread). The banana flavor is pronounced in the bars complemented by the sweet maraschino cherries. I couldn't taste the pineapples and forgot it was even in there. The frosting is light, buttery with a banana-y flavor. It is sweet without it being overly sweet. I found the directions, baking time and servings all spot on! I think the next time I bake these I will add a little more cherries. This was an absolute joy to bake and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
These are incredible banana bars. I took these to the teachers' lounge at school and had several requests for the recipe. They are very moist, and all of the flavors work so well together. I topped my piece (I always try to sneak one piece) with hot fudge sauce, and it was wonderful. One of the best banana recipes I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are terrific! I only made the cake and we ate it without frosting and they didn't need it. I did double the cherries and next time i'm going to add 1 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Sooo Good!!! Had to use a cup of fresh pineapple no juice..didn't need it. Next time I'll use more cherries. Made with cream cheese frosting. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
omg what an amazing recipe, tasted just like a banana split! I followed the recipe exactly, just quartered the cherries instead of putting whole ones into the batter. I needed a little more icing than the recipe called for, so I just added a little more of the ingredients until the taste and consistency were good. I added walnuts on top of the icing while it was still warm, then after that cooled I drizzled Hersheys hard shell syrup on top and added more walnuts. The only con of the recipe is that the bars were really messy, next time I'll leave it in the fridge for a few hours before serving to see if that helps. A must try recipe though, perfect for summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyBreaks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Pretty good. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips. I couldn't taste the pineapple that much and I wish I had doubled the cherries. I like the frosting and enjoyed these bars in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Was good, would maybe use a different frosting next time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Yum! I added a little extra pineapple and it was STILL hard to taste! I also put regular cream cheese frosting on it to save time but added crushed pineapple, chocolate syrup, nuts, and cherries to the top as a garnish that really helped bring out the whole theme/flavors. Also, i only baked it for 30 minutes and it probably could have been taken out a little earlier than that (i used an aluminum pan and electric oven)! Really yummy though. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These didn't work for me. Followed recipe to a "T" and they were mushy and bland in the middle. Too bad, I had high hopes for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States