Banana Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very Good! I did change a few things. I did 1/2c.white sugar and 1/2c.brown sugar. Added 2 extra bananas to wet ingreadents and a 1/2 cup of oatmeal to dry ingreadents. I also toasted my nuts in a dry frying pan. I noticed there was no salt so to enhance my flavors I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I split the batch in half and left one half alone. To the other half I add more layers of flavors I added: 1/3 cup mini semi sweet chocolate chips(What ever chips you like) & 1/3 cup coconut(What ever dry fruit you like). I also mixed my Wet Ingreadents together first then in a another bowl my Dry Ingreadents. I then added the Dry to the Wet. Watch your ovens temps. Make sure you either bake on a Baking Mat or a Light Color CookieSheet(Not a Dark Colored One). The bottoms of your cookies will come out too dark.. Both my 1/2 batches of cookies came out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I had a bowl full of black bananas and hated seeing them go to waste. The cookies tasted like small banana nut muffins. I used pecans since that is what I had in the house. I also went a bit heavy on the spices since some people said they were a bit bland. I also added brandy flavor just for the heck of it. The first two trays were without nuts since my boys hate nuts. My eldest ate one and then 3 more. The entire house smells delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I thought these were really good!! The bananas add so much sweetness so I cut the sugar amount in half and then used half white sugar and half brown (1/4 cup of each). I substituted all spice for cloves and also threw in some white chocolate chips! I will be making these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I don't think I would make this recipe again. The cookies were "OK", but I didn't feel like they tasted good enough to be worth the time it took to make them. I am always looking for recipes to use my over-ripe bananas, but I have found banana bread recipes that I like much better. I made a double batch and increased the cloves and cinnamon by 1/2. It still wasn't enough, and I could hardly taste the spices. The cloves were brand new, and the cinnamon just purchased a few months ago, so it wasn't from old ingredients. I think if I were to make them again, I would TRIPPLE the amount of spice called for. I went ahead and made the butter cream frosting from All Recipes.com like they suggested, which greatly improved the cookie. These cookies are really pretty bland and need to be frosted -- in my opinion they can't stand alone. --SHELLGRAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Grove Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have been making these for years. They never cease to be my favorite cookie! Pair with banana frosting made with real bananas and it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
made a bread pan insted family enjoyed this as a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Someone know how long those last without spoiling? If not refrigerated? Want to send them to my son on the army overseas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gila Idelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic Recipe...this was exactly what I was looking for. Yes, they are like muffin tops so if you are wanting a "cookie", then this may not be for you. I also dusted the tops with cinnamon/sugar prior to baking as another reader suggested and they are simply delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Craft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I used regular vegetable shortening. I also added raisins...they turned out yummy. Cook time was mir like 8 min for my oven....the yield was 42
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe because I was craving a cookie with a twist...it turned ok more like banana scones not cookies to be precise. I glazed the top after the cooled down with confectioners sugar mixed with orange juice for a sweet glaze and it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divanje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States