Banana Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very Good! I did change a few things. I did 1/2c.white sugar and 1/2c.brown sugar. Added 2 extra bananas to wet ingreadents and a 1/2 cup of oatmeal to dry ingreadents. I also toasted my nuts in a dry frying pan. I noticed there was no salt so to enhance my flavors I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I split the batch in half and left one half alone. To the other half I add more layers of flavors I added: 1/3 cup mini semi sweet chocolate chips(What ever chips you like) & 1/3 cup coconut(What ever dry fruit you like). I also mixed my Wet Ingreadents together first then in a another bowl my Dry Ingreadents. I then added the Dry to the Wet. Watch your ovens temps. Make sure you either bake on a Baking Mat or a Light Color CookieSheet(Not a Dark Colored One). The bottoms of your cookies will come out too dark.. Both my 1/2 batches of cookies came out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I had a bowl full of black bananas and hated seeing them go to waste. The cookies tasted like small banana nut muffins. I used pecans since that is what I had in the house. I also went a bit heavy on the spices since some people said they were a bit bland. I also added brandy flavor just for the heck of it. The first two trays were without nuts since my boys hate nuts. My eldest ate one and then 3 more. The entire house smells delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I thought these were really good!! The bananas add so much sweetness so I cut the sugar amount in half and then used half white sugar and half brown (1/4 cup of each). I substituted all spice for cloves and also threw in some white chocolate chips! I will be making these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I don't think I would make this recipe again. The cookies were "OK", but I didn't feel like they tasted good enough to be worth the time it took to make them. I am always looking for recipes to use my over-ripe bananas, but I have found banana bread recipes that I like much better. I made a double batch and increased the cloves and cinnamon by 1/2. It still wasn't enough, and I could hardly taste the spices. The cloves were brand new, and the cinnamon just purchased a few months ago, so it wasn't from old ingredients. I think if I were to make them again, I would TRIPPLE the amount of spice called for. I went ahead and made the butter cream frosting from All Recipes.com like they suggested, which greatly improved the cookie. These cookies are really pretty bland and need to be frosted -- in my opinion they can't stand alone. --SHELLGRAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Grove Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have been making these for years. They never cease to be my favorite cookie! Pair with banana frosting made with real bananas and it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
made a bread pan insted family enjoyed this as a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Someone know how long those last without spoiling? If not refrigerated? Want to send them to my son on the army overseas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gila Idelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic Recipe...this was exactly what I was looking for. Yes, they are like muffin tops so if you are wanting a "cookie", then this may not be for you. I also dusted the tops with cinnamon/sugar prior to baking as another reader suggested and they are simply delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I used regular vegetable shortening. I also added raisins...they turned out yummy. Cook time was mir like 8 min for my oven....the yield was 42
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe because I was craving a cookie with a twist...it turned ok more like banana scones not cookies to be precise. I glazed the top after the cooled down with confectioners sugar mixed with orange juice for a sweet glaze and it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divanje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States