Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent - we even like it as muffins more. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is now my go to recipe for banana bread. I chose to add the cup of nuts. Like others, I baked in 2 larger loaf pans and upped the temp to 325. After 1 hour they were nice and brown but yet not done in the center. I turned the temp down slightly and placed a piece of foil across the top to keep them from burning on top. Total bake time ended up at 1 hour 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was the best banana bread recipe, EVER. I did add some my own personal favorites. I made two loaves, instead of 4 and used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 white all purpose flour. I used baking Stevia in the Raw, instead of sugar 1 cup. I added more walnuts,vanilla and cinnamon than the recipe called for and I added chocolate chips so my picky son would try it. Delicious and soooo moist. Will do it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've made several different recipes and by a mile this one is best! I like doing half sour cream and the other half vanilla Greek yogurt! Moist and delicious! Freezes great and stays very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Scrumptious! Had 3 containers of sour cream and a gallon freezer bag full of bananas to use up so searched for recipes and came up with this one. Wish I hadn't listened to reviewers that cut the sugar, thought 3 Cups was a lot so I cut it to 1 3/4 Cups but it wasn't quite sweet enough. Next time I'll use 2 Cups. It did however have the perfect banana bread consistency, sliced wonderfully and had super banana flavor! Making the full recipe I divided batter between two 9x5" pans and baked at 325 for an hour and 15 minutes...I did cover the loaves with foil at about 45 minutes in because they were quite browned already. Next time I think I'll also sprinkle the tops with the cinnamon sugar mixture, the crust was the best! Thanks for sharing a SUPER DELICIOUS recipe... this is my go to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed another persons comment of cut in half and cook at 325°. Came out perfect. I had to use parchment paper, so I didn't get to add the extra cinnamon and sugar, but since I had to use up 4 bananas it was perfectly sweet. Hubby said it was a keeper. Considering I usually get the response, "Eh, it's filler" that is saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Rediculously good. I about doubled the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Médard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made almost as stated, with the exception of using 6 over ripe bananas for a half batch. I did follow other reviews and cook at 325 for a bit over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe is literally a money maker. I made these and used them as items for bake sales. The moist texture and flavor lasts for two days. Spread some peanut butter and you're in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made a third of this recipe and used my mini muffin tin. A third of this recipe fills one mini muffin tin with 24 spaces. Fill the spaces just about to the top. In addition to cinnamon, I added a healthy dose of ground cloves and ground nutmeg, both of which go nicely with banana. I also used two and a half bananas, or use two large bananas. I baked at 350 degrees for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States