Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Hands down the best banana bread I've ever made! I didn't have enough sour cream so I substituted half plain greek yogurt and half sour cream. Scaled it down to 3/4 and made in two 9x5 loaf pans. Cooked at 325 for an hour and ten minutes. Don't overcook this - I took it out when my knife had moist crumbs attached but not batter. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made it just as written and it was perfect! The cinnamon sugar in the loaf pan made the bottom and sides sweet and crisp. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinny Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This recipe should be a 5 star, but as written is closer to a 2 or 3. The recipe itself is sound, but the bake time is waaaay off. 300 degrees will give you a doughy (although delicious) mess. I bake at 325 for about an hour and they come out perfect! So moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious and moist! Like other reviewers, I halved the recipe and used 1 c. of sugar. Wondering if I can cut the sugar down even more (like 3/4 cups)…any thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Baked one loaf with the sugar cinnamon floured glass pan and one without. The greased pan without the cinammon mixture stuck in the pan and the other one with did not. I made half the recipe using 3/4 c sugar and made 2 loaf pans and baked for 50 min. and they were done. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was absolutely fantastic save for the cooking time. I found 1 hour at 300 degrees to be insufficient, so after the first hour I covered with foil and increased the temperature to 325 for an additional 20 minutes which resulted in a perfectly done loaf. This could have been the result of me baking in a cast iron loaf pan, but regardless it was a trivial issue that was easily gotten around. Additionally I added dried blueberries to the dough/batter which made it even more moist and awesome. I will definitely be making this again and it is my new go to banana bread recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brien Sherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Best banana bread recipe I've tried! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
my bread turned out very delicious. But why is there two measurements of sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Faltersack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent - we even like it as muffins more. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is now my go to recipe for banana bread. I chose to add the cup of nuts. Like others, I baked in 2 larger loaf pans and upped the temp to 325. After 1 hour they were nice and brown but yet not done in the center. I turned the temp down slightly and placed a piece of foil across the top to keep them from burning on top. Total bake time ended up at 1 hour 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States