Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
make sure not to completely mix dry ingredients to wet like you would a cake. Instead use the muffin method; make a ''well'' in the centre of the dry ingredients, add the wet, and gently fold just until the wet ingredients coat the dry. you want to make sure you have lumps of flour, not smooth. over mixing causes a dry, tough, odd shaped product. I learned this from my friend. Excellent bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is delicious. This year we "made" Christmas. I made a loaf of this bread to add to every relative's gift basket and for each of my child's teachers (I did mini loaves for my son's teachers as he is in middle school and we had a LOT of teachers, assistant teachers and administrators) - we also made chocolate drizzled popcorn. Because we made SO much of this recipe, I froze the loaves until we were ready to make the baskets. They freeze/thaw out nicely. I will do this again next year. We got so many compliments on it. I did what the other reviewer suggested and added a topping: brown sugar (1/2 cup), flour (1/2 cup) and walnuts (1/3 cup), 3 tbsp butter and 1 tsp cinnamon mixed and crumbled over top of bread to bake. When I ran out of tins I had some pretty tulip shaped muffin tins and I made some of those, too... they puffed up beautifully. I am on my way to make more of this now for breakfast tomorrow. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
this is a good recipe and almost identical to my grandmothers, I used pecans as my grandma did and I increased the temperature to 325 degrees and cooked this an additional 20 minutes. I also have a propane stove which makes a difference.anyway needless to say this turned out very good , I can remember my grandmother adding extra cooking time when she used heavier batters such as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tok, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very very good. Whole family loved it. I added a cup of mini semisweet chips. Excellent! I needed to cook it longer, about 70 minutes because of my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
3 stars because the finished product was good. First, I hope you have a rain barrel to mix it in because it makes about 15 gallons of batter. I made two 3x7 loaves and a bundt cake. It also took exactly 1 hour 5 minutes to cook at 350 degrees. I didn't even try to cook it at 300. 3 tsp is a tablespoon. I don't think the sugar-cinnamon step added anything at all. But the loaf is good which is good because it made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Best banana bread ever! I substituted brown for white sugar and had to add a little buttermilk to make up for a shortage of sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBreezy
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
We always end up waiting too long to eat our bananas, so I use them by trying different banana bread recipes each time. I just happened to have three very ripe bananas and all the ingredients at home, so I cut this recipe in half and made two loaves. They were so delicious and moist, I won't need to search for another banana bread recipe; it was a hit with the whole family! No nuts included (hubby hates them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was good and very easy fallow the only thing I use different was old wheat flour and it came out awesome love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My family loves this recipe! It is very moist. I always add more banana than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Yummy and moist! I was a banana short so I added about 1/2 cup of applesauce and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States