Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is the only banana bread recipe that is moist and fresh-tasting the next day, although it rarely makes it to the next day. The sour cream keeps the bread moist, and adds exceptional flavor. I have a small family of 3, so I made only a third of the original recipe. This made one loaf, and 4 nice sized banana muffins. To top off this recipe, I added a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, which was a splendid idea, if I don't say so myself ;) I used real butter to grease my pans, and sprinkled on the sugar mixture which makes the sweetest most delectable crust ever!!! I will use this from now on in all of my breads and pastries. I must go have a slice now... Thank you for this javascript:void(0);wonderfully tasty and moist recipe!! One more thing... I have substituted the sour cream with greek yogurt when I ran out of sour cream, and the results are great, as well! Great way to add protein to my meat-hating children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYBOPPS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I love this, and the recipe is good as is. I do use whole wheat flour, and some brown sugar now, but that is just a personal preference thing. Yummy recipe and my kiddo could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
this recipe is a great hit I am making it again only after one week I did take some notes from saralady19 and baked them at 325 1hr 10 - 15min. I had to keep checking it because like dlpalma the centers didn't want to bake. you need to watch how much you put in the pan, it will double in size once it is done. the first one I poured took forever to get done. I made it way to thick. we will see how they turn out to day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stopandsmelltheflowers
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
The best banana bread recipe on this site. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Didn't change a thing and loved it! Made muffins with it too. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Loved it and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERRIWE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
One of the better quick bread recipes. Used 2 9 inch loaf pans. Took about 1 3/4 hrs. to bake. Foil on the top after 1 hr. Need "longer" toothpicks for the larger loaf pans. Pick came out clean but the bottom of the loaf wasn't completely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This recipe was delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
So moist and full of flavor, and the cinnamon sugar in the pan adds a extra yum factor! I sprinkled the left over cinnamon sugar on top before baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is a huge recipe! I had a bunch of ripe bananas on hand so just made the whole recipe. I only have one loaf pan. So I yielded one giant loaf of bread and 24 muffins. Don't be too shy when filling the pans because this recipe lifts really nicely. My husband loved it! Neither of us thought it was too sweet and he's sensitive to things being really sweet. The recipe is denser than a cake but lighter than most breads. The only change I made was add 1/2 tsp rack of nutmeg and cloves. Gave a spicy essence. Oh I also use the crumb topping from the zucchini bread on this site. Very good! The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States