Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out delicious! I might use a little less sugar next time, but my family still loved it. The only thing I altered was the cooking time, as a few others have said, I baked it on 300 for 1 hour but it was still completely raw. So I covered it with foil and baked it on 325 for 20 more minutes and it came out perfectly cooked and very moist. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Best ever!! I did the topping suggested by sarahlady19. Turned out great. Very moist. Best banana bread I have ever made. I also cut the recipe in half for two loaves instead of four. And I also cooked the loaves at 325F for 1 hr and 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benard Benards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is the BEST banana bread ever. I make it at Christmas time for friends and family. I get rave reviews. They ask for the recipe every time.My husband says nobody can top my bread. Its the sour cream that makes it so good. Pat from Ga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Hands down the best banana bread I've ever made! I didn't have enough sour cream so I substituted half plain greek yogurt and half sour cream. Scaled it down to 3/4 and made in two 9x5 loaf pans. Cooked at 325 for an hour and ten minutes. Don't overcook this - I took it out when my knife had moist crumbs attached but not batter. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made it just as written and it was perfect! The cinnamon sugar in the loaf pan made the bottom and sides sweet and crisp. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinny Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This recipe should be a 5 star, but as written is closer to a 2 or 3. The recipe itself is sound, but the bake time is waaaay off. 300 degrees will give you a doughy (although delicious) mess. I bake at 325 for about an hour and they come out perfect! So moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious and moist! Like other reviewers, I halved the recipe and used 1 c. of sugar. Wondering if I can cut the sugar down even more (like 3/4 cups)…any thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Baked one loaf with the sugar cinnamon floured glass pan and one without. The greased pan without the cinammon mixture stuck in the pan and the other one with did not. I made half the recipe using 3/4 c sugar and made 2 loaf pans and baked for 50 min. and they were done. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was absolutely fantastic save for the cooking time. I found 1 hour at 300 degrees to be insufficient, so after the first hour I covered with foil and increased the temperature to 325 for an additional 20 minutes which resulted in a perfectly done loaf. This could have been the result of me baking in a cast iron loaf pan, but regardless it was a trivial issue that was easily gotten around. Additionally I added dried blueberries to the dough/batter which made it even more moist and awesome. I will definitely be making this again and it is my new go to banana bread recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brien Sherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States