Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I gave this a 5 star but I am rating it according to my alterations. First of all, I used 2 1/2 cups white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3 cups white sugar. I reduced the sour cream down to 8 ounces instead of 16 ounces. The bread remained moist but not wet or under baked in the centre & I did not have problems like a lot of others said they experienced. I added 1/2 cup raisins to my batter. Everything else I kept the same. The next time I think I will leave out the sugar / cinnamon dusting for the pans, for me it is just a little too sweet & I feel it distracts from the overall flavour of the bananas. All in all this is a really good recipe. A keeper. Happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaapr68

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is a great tasting banana bread recipe and so moist! I had used the same banana bread recipe for years that was handed down to me by my husband's grandmother until now. I was searching for a recipe to use up a large quantity of sour cream and as a bonus found a recipe that would also use up overripe bananas. I made the following changes: 1. I don't care for cinnamon so I don't put it in the bread nor dust the pans with cinnamon and sugar. 2. I substitute plain yogurt for the sour cream if that is what I have on hand. 3. I use 3 pans instead of 4 pans. 4. I upped the temperature to 325 degrees and baked it for another 15 minutes. Turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Delicious! I found, like a few others, that I took a lot longer to cook than the time notes on the recipe. After the hour, I increased the temp to 325 and cooked it for another half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
The loaf was far too sweet and it refused to cook in the middle no matter how much extra time I cooked it for. Had some better luck when I put the rest of the batch into muffin tins, but still not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
i just made this bread tonight- exactly how the recipe reads. It's so good the way it is. Hubby suggested next time i add chocolate chips to a loaf (since he likes choc chips). Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My husband says "this is the best banana bread ever".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p0p_s_icle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jiajia
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
The sour cream made it very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Wertman
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This was so moist and yummy. The hubby loved it too. I made it without nuts and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wertman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States