Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Delicious with a few changes I made to make it healthier. Turned out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent banana bread. So moist and very easy to make. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe is almost PERFECT. The bread is very moist. It is a dense bread so slices like butter and isn't crumbly. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I wanted a regular size loaf so I cut this recipe down to 1/3 and was the right size. I will make it again, but will cut the sugar down - it was a little on the sweet side. The sour cream is the secret!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made some changes based on what I had in the house. I was short 1/4 of butter, so I used mayo. I am sure I added in extra bananas, since I used whatever I had (probably 7 or 8), thew in vanilla and cinnamon without measuring. Sugar was half white, half turbinado (Sugar in the Raw). I ended up doing 2 brownie pans of bread, one tray of 24 cupcakes, and one tray of muffin tops. At 300, muffin tops were done in 30 min and muffins in about 40/45. Rest were good at about 70 minutes. They tasted great. I love sour cream in anything, though! I added about a cup or so of chocolate chips, also. I am sure I will make it again for Thanksgiving and Christmas time and will change it up based on what I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa
Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heroinecarolyn
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Definitely my new go-to banana nut bread recipe! The sour cream made it 10x more moist than a recipe without it. I cut the recipe in half, and baked 2 loaves at 300 for an hour and 15 min. Turned out great and my family loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Excellent. I halved the recipe and baked at 325 for 1 hour. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
5 Star Taste but a bit sticky in texture... stuck in the pan even after greasing it and fell apart when cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I was a bit sceptical of this recipe as I have made banana bread before and they have always turned out terrible. But I had sour cream and bananas to use up so I thought i'd give it one last try. I'm so glad I did. This turned out wonderfully well. I followed the recipe exactly except I only used 5 bananas (I only had 5 on hand) and 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon ( I don't like strong cinnamon tastes). I did do a double take when i saw the temperature setting, 300 seemed a bit low but I set it at that anyway, and yep they rose well. I had to leave them in there about 10 mimutes longer than stated though. They looked fantastic when I took them out of the oven and smelt great. I was getting ready for the dissapointing taste but no, it tasted great too. I still can't believe I have found a banana bread recipe I like and turned out so well. Thank you Esther for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Everyone that tried it loved it. Very moist. Made 3 loaves. Will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Hard to rate when I changed the recipe so much but it came out great. I halved the recipe and wanted to make it a little more healthy. Two eggs, 3/4 cup of sugar and a dollop of molasses, 1 cup of white flour and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour, 1/4 stick of butter only and 1/4 cup of applesauce. Added a handful each of ground flax and whole flax and chia seeds. Bumped the spices way up and added cloves, nutmeg and allspice. All other ingredients were just halved. Used reduced fat sour cream. Used almonds as it was the only nuts I had. At 1 hour and 20 minutes, I turned off the oven and let it rest in there for another 10-15 minutes. This banana bread came out so moist and slightly dense, it was more like a cake. Even better after a day in the fridge. I was afraid of how long it was taking to cook at that low heat but it came out perfect. I froze one and can't stop nibbling at the other one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miki Crespo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States