Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious and moist! Like other reviewers, I halved the recipe and used 1 c. of sugar. Wondering if I can cut the sugar down even more (like 3/4 cups)…any thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Baked one loaf with the sugar cinnamon floured glass pan and one without. The greased pan without the cinammon mixture stuck in the pan and the other one with did not. I made half the recipe using 3/4 c sugar and made 2 loaf pans and baked for 50 min. and they were done. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was absolutely fantastic save for the cooking time. I found 1 hour at 300 degrees to be insufficient, so after the first hour I covered with foil and increased the temperature to 325 for an additional 20 minutes which resulted in a perfectly done loaf. This could have been the result of me baking in a cast iron loaf pan, but regardless it was a trivial issue that was easily gotten around. Additionally I added dried blueberries to the dough/batter which made it even more moist and awesome. I will definitely be making this again and it is my new go to banana bread recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brien Sherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Best banana bread recipe I've tried! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
my bread turned out very delicious. But why is there two measurements of sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Faltersack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent - we even like it as muffins more. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is now my go to recipe for banana bread. I chose to add the cup of nuts. Like others, I baked in 2 larger loaf pans and upped the temp to 325. After 1 hour they were nice and brown but yet not done in the center. I turned the temp down slightly and placed a piece of foil across the top to keep them from burning on top. Total bake time ended up at 1 hour 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was the best banana bread recipe, EVER. I did add some my own personal favorites. I made two loaves, instead of 4 and used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 white all purpose flour. I used baking Stevia in the Raw, instead of sugar 1 cup. I added more walnuts,vanilla and cinnamon than the recipe called for and I added chocolate chips so my picky son would try it. Delicious and soooo moist. Will do it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've made several different recipes and by a mile this one is best! I like doing half sour cream and the other half vanilla Greek yogurt! Moist and delicious! Freezes great and stays very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Scrumptious! Had 3 containers of sour cream and a gallon freezer bag full of bananas to use up so searched for recipes and came up with this one. Wish I hadn't listened to reviewers that cut the sugar, thought 3 Cups was a lot so I cut it to 1 3/4 Cups but it wasn't quite sweet enough. Next time I'll use 2 Cups. It did however have the perfect banana bread consistency, sliced wonderfully and had super banana flavor! Making the full recipe I divided batter between two 9x5" pans and baked at 325 for an hour and 15 minutes...I did cover the loaves with foil at about 45 minutes in because they were quite browned already. Next time I think I'll also sprinkle the tops with the cinnamon sugar mixture, the crust was the best! Thanks for sharing a SUPER DELICIOUS recipe... this is my go to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States