Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
FANTASTIC! I made this recipe 3 times before I really feel like I got it just right! Here are my discoveries: 1. I added just a dash of nutmeg and ground cloves. 2. I halved the recipe and made two 7 1/2" x 9" loaves, but the first time I used the temperature and time given in the recipe, resulting in two doughy (but delicious) uncooked loaves. If making two loaves, do 325 degrees for 1 hr 10 mins, they bake perfectly! 3. I can't really make the butter and sugar in the beginning "cream" together, there's just too much sugar, (but don't change the sugar amount!) So don't worry if it doesn't look creamy. 4. I used an electric mixer to mix the wet ingredients together, but I hand-mixed the flour into the mixture. Try #2 I used the electric mixer to incorporate the flour, the loaves turned out to be a bit too light and airy for me, like cake. Hand-mixing in the flour created a denser, more bread-like consistency. 5. Making a crumbly topping is a MUST. I took a topping recipe from Zucchini Bread IV from this site, but I modified it just a little bit for two loaves: ~ 1/2 cup packed brown sugar ~ 1/2 cup all-purpose flour ~ 2 or 3 tablespoons butter or margarine ~ 1 teaspoon cinnamon ~ 1/3 cup chopped walnuts or pecans. I microwaved the butter for just a while to make it nice and soft, mixed it together with a fork until it was cumbly, and spooned it over the loaves before putting it in the oven. This bread is SO good and easy, even for a novice baker like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2930 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraLady19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
The very best even with my lower fat changes! My changes not only cut the fat in half, but also cut the calories in each serving by 100. NOTE: I halved the recipe. My changes for half the recipe: 2 TBS butter & 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of all butter. In the batter I used 1 c Splenda and 1/2 c sugar. I used 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 c all purpose flour. I used 2 eggs and light sour cream. My 2 loaves baked in an hour. No one would guess they are lower fat and calorie. They were perfect in taste and texture. Next time I'm going to try all Splenda and applesauce and will give an update on the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I cannot believe I'm the only one who had trouble with this recipe. The directions called for baking 1 hour at 300 degrees. (Which I questioned but followed.) Needless to say, my loaves were totally raw in the center! (even left them in for an additional 15 minutes. Truly disappointing. All 4 loaves went in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
858 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I have tried so many banana bread recipes, and this one is the best. The only recommendation I would make is putting aluminum foil over the bread the last 20 minutes or so of baking to avoid having the top too dark... but I have to do this with most quick breads. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Just wanted to add this: if you make this bread with FAT-FREE sour cream instead of the regular kind, it won't turn out the same! It is dry and crumbly... not as good as the first batch... I won't make this mistake again. (It tastes ok, but not as rich - so not too good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Yummy! This is one of the absolutely best banana bread recipes I have ever tried!!! I had some bananas that were overripe so I decided to make this for my family one morning for breakfast. I made half of the recipe with 2 eggs and 4 extrmely overripe bananas. The cinnamon sugar coating was a great touch and I also sprinkled it on top of the bread before baking. While the bread was cooling, I went to take a shower. When I got out, everyone was standing around the cooling rack waiting for me to say that it was okay to cut the loaf.:-) Needless to say, it was well worth the wait. One thing I did notice was that the loaves did not rise very much. I know that my baking soda was fresh, so I'm not sure why the bread didn't rise. I don't know if anyone else experienced this. ***** just made this again this weekend. Made half the recipe, and used a long and deep loaf pan (from which you can get slices the size of Starbucks breads). I used 4.5 ripe bananas, 1 cup of sugar, 2 tsp. of vanilla, didn't have sour cream, so I used about 6 ounces of nonfat yogurt, and lots of cinnamon and sugar on the bottom and top of the pan. I also laid out a row of walnuts down the middle of the loaf pan before baking, and the presentation was very pretty. I also had to bake it for about 15 minutes more than the time called for in the recipe. The bread turned out yummy and not too sweet...perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This banana bread was so good! It was very moist and, unlike other reviewers, it was not too sweet for me. I got three 9x5 loaves out of it, and baked them at 325 degrees to make up for the added volume. They came out just perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODILICIOUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I love this recipe! I am a banana bread fan, so it isn't hard to please me, but my mother and sister are definitely anti- banana bread. Even they had to admit that "for banana bread, this is pretty good." Another plus, this bread freezes wonderfully! I left it in my freezer for a few months, and it was still moist and held together well when I thawed it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Like others, I did not want to use that much sugar. I made 1/2 of the recipe and used 1 cup sugar + 2 eggs. Turned out great. Next time I may try 3/4 cup sugar. Great for "mini loaves" to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Fantastic! I had to half the recipe as I only had 2 small bananas on hand (used just one egg and a bit less sugar and flour). I was worried it wouldn't turn out, but was not dissapointed one bit! Tastes divine warmed up in the microwave with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States