Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I prepared these as directed, but only ended up with enough for three loaves. My pans were not all the same size. Anyhow, this is the best banana bread I've ever made! I love the sugar/cinnamon coating. It gives it that extra something. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Fantastic recipe!!! I didn't have any bread pans so I used muffin pans instead... I baked them at 325 for 28 minutes... This recipe made about 28 large muffins! I'm not big on walnuts, so I subbed for chocolate chips! Yum!!!! Thank you sooooo much!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisha Chambers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is the best banana bread recipe ever! Everyone raves about it and asks for some. I have been making this recipe for about 9 months now. I have only ever had one loaf fail. I use 3 8X4 inch bread pans and it fills them perfectly. I also measure out exactly 2 cups of bananas for the recipe and I cook the bread at 325 for about an hour and 15 minutes and it is perfect every time. I also add 1/4 teaspoon of all spice and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg to the recipe. I too find that I have to cover it for the last 15 min to avoid over browning the top. My only failure was the very first batch I made.I used larger loaf pans and tried cooking at 300 degrees per the recipe. I opened the oven at about 50 min to check on it and see it's progress and the loaves caved in. I learned from that mistake! Higher temp, smaller pans, consistency on amount bananas. Too little or too much banana can make a difference and 6 large bananas is pretty vague. 2 cups was the magic number! Sometimes it takes 6 bananas and sometimes 8 bananas to make 2 cups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Failed...just like everyone else who left a bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddykins82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great hit:-) shared extras with my favorite veteran :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha Tushim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I cut the recipe in half (but using 2 eggs) and used one 9x5 ceramic loaf pan. At 300, I found that I had to bake for about 1 hour 45 minutes (possibly due to ceramic vs. metal). Following other suggestions I topped with a cinnamon crumble (sugar, cinnamon, flour, butter) before baking and it melted into the middle of the loaf making it even more delicious. I found that dusting the loaf pan with sugar and cinnamon after greasing, not only gave it a crisp outer edge, but also helped it to slide right out of the pan. Thank you for the recipe. Definitely one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The reviews on this had me nervous. So many mentioned it not baking evenly, having a mushy middle, bad consistency, etc. I followed the recipe closely, changing only the amount of sugar (2 cups instead of 3). I used two large loaf pans - 11+ by 5+ because that's all I had on hand (EZfoil). One hour and 10 minutes later, perfect banana bread - perfect consistency, fabulous taste. All in all, very easy to make and totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This recipe is amazing! It's a total hit and I make it all the time. I add a bag of Nestle Mini semi sweet Morsels and people rave about it. I also use large loaf pans so mine makes 3 good size loaves.. I sometimes will freeze a loaf for serving later. They freeze great! One of the best banana bread recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I didn't have sour cream on hand so swapped in Hellman's mayo. In one , I added 1 cup of dried cranberriies. This is the moistest banana bread and PACKED with flavour. Definitely a new family favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am so picky about banana bread after tasting the perfect one 20 yrs ago and never getting the recipe; I knew it had sour cream though. I only had 4 bananas & no sour cream so used 18 oz of my plain, homemade tart yogurt hoping the extra yogurt would make up for the missing bananas and followed the reviewer with 2 larger pans at 325 for a little over an hour and foil covered the last 20. This is the recipe I've been searching for - so moist, so yummy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States