Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Fantastic! The best banana bread ever. I cut the recipe in half and made 2 loaves. I cut the butter to 1/4 cup and the sugar to 1/2 cup... You don't need all that sugar and butter... Everything else was cut in half, except for 2 eggs and 2/3 cup walnuts. I cooked it at 325 for 1 hour + 2 minutes. I immediately took the loaves out of the pans and cooled on a rack. Outstanding! I don't give that rating lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Loved it! I use greek yogurt instead of the sour cream and it is still so delishious and moist! I have to make double batches (8 loaves!) so my family doesn't fight over who gets to take a loaf home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I had this recipe and lost it.I was so happy to find it again!I was making a batch sometimes twice a week for family and the fellas that work with my husband. It is the yummiest banana bread out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry L
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe. I made some large loaf so I increased the temp to 325 as someone suggested because I did not want a doughy center. They came out beautiful. I would just change the cinnamon/sugar grease pan coat to just a greased/flour coat because the sugar tends to cook quicker than the bread itself, increasing the chance of over doneness on the outside. Overall a super moist and delicious bread. It yields quite a bit doughy batter so hope you have a really large bowl. It helps to cream the sugar/butter in a processor and combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, of course. Wet and banana ingredients were in a third bowl. Combine all of the ingredients in a super large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
It made 3 large loaf pans and 9 muffins. Do the loaves, I did have to leave them in the oven for about 80 minutes. Use the toothpick or a knife to check the center of your bread for sure. Bread comes out delicious and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great Banana Bread! I made 2 big loves and my 4 teens will wipe it out!! So moist. This will make a great Christmas gifts for friends an neighbors. apexduck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Truly the best banana bread. The ratings don't lie. With you recipe, I make 3 loafs/pans or banana bbread, could also do muffins :) yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! Moist and tasty every time. It makes a lot so there is always some to share or freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I'm not sure what went wrong, followed the directions, the flavor is wonderful, but the exterior got overcooked while the inside is still very gooy a raw gooy. The exterior very dry an crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I have been looking for a great banana bread for a long time, and I had one recipe I used a long time. That recipe pales in comparison. I followed it exactly. My husband is raving about it right now. He ate a full mini-loaf. I did use small loaf pans instead and made 5 small loaves with a 2/3 recipe. I only had 4 bananas. Yeah! Great recipe. I don't know why people think they need to change recipes and add this or that. This one is perfect the way it is, and I agree that using fat-free or low-fat sour cream won't work the same way because the fat in the sour cream is to replace oil, which is in every banana bread recipe. I would rather put in sour cream, real stuff with all of the fat, than add oil to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 3,544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States