Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made this twice so far the first time was perfect. I have no idea what I did wrong the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellerefinnej

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I've used this recipe 3 or 4 times now and have found no problems, although I did increase the temperature to 325F for one hour and they come out perfect. For a healthier version I use plain yogurt in place of the sour cream. I've also used the brown sugar, pecan, butter and flour mixture on top, suggested by another patron, and it's amazing. This is our recipe for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sibley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Temperature is way off, managed to save them but worst part is I knew better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The BEST banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was wonderful! i didnt have sour cream so used yogurt instead. So moist. I also added the sugar/cinnamon on top rather than just the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I would rate this 7-10.... It was very heavy. It was def very moist, I just wish I had used maybe one more banana and used bigger pieces of walnuts instead of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The flavour is just wonderful! I wanted to follow LINDABTX changes but didn't have all the ingredients so I just changed: 3/4 cup of butter for 4TB butter and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. Just amazing! Next time I will try: less 2TB of butter and about half the sugar (I usually do that with most recipes as we don't have a sweet tooth in this house). Oh I also added some chocolate chips, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
absolutely the best banana bread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I'm sorry to say that I tried this recipe to a tee & it was an absolute failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I prepared this recipe only to have cream cheese for stead of sour cream. On top of that, about 3 5min into cooking phase, the butter got left in the microwave so, there was no butter or fat content in the mix as well, i added a 4th egg because mine were very small. I could not stand the melted butter just to get put back into the fridge so, i rued a 1/4 cup of cocoa, about 5 oz of strawberry preserves and a half cup sugar for a topping. I included the rest of the cream cheese left over which was about 3 oz. I set in sauce pan on med heat long enough to DE-crystalise the sugar and melt down the cream cheese. I topped both now cakes once they were cooled enough and it was actually very good and no ingredients were wasted. i never made a banana bread without some fat content be it oil or butter and i have to tell you that the sponginess and moistness was quite impressive despite my mistake of not adding the butter. My apologies if in any way i took away from the original author's recipe by sharing my mistake. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 3,421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States