Banana Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These work well as breakfast or as a snack. My husband isn't crazy about them, he said it's a 3, but myself as well as about 4 other people thought they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is a very good and a very quick cake and was enjoyed by all. I used 1/2 cup marg. and 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the 1 cup of butter. Next time I'll only use 1 cup of applesauce rather than the butter. I also added a touch of cinnamon which was nice. I added the coconut to the dry ingredients and skipped the walnuts as we are a nut-free classroom. My twin 7 year olds loved it and I will definitely be adding this cake to my "school baking" list. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Oh my. Soooo good. My husband and I can't get enough of this. We left out the coconut and walnuts and it still turned out beautiful--great flavor and texture. After mashing 3 bananas, I had a quarter cup more than is called for but I used it all anyway. Worked great. This is a new family favorite! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Wonderful, full of flavor. I can't keep my husband out of it... I keep telling him if he'll let it cool the banana flavor will come through even more. My kids love it as well. I had about 1/3 c extra banana so I cut back on the butter by 3 T. I also sprinkled in a bit of cinnamon. Will become a regular in my house. In the future I think I will use just 1 c of choc chips and not put any on top. Also I plan to try w/ butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is awesome and has all the things in it that I love. I only used 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips and will probably only use 1 cup the next time. I increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and added 1 teaspoon of coconut extract. I also left out the nuts since many of the people I know can't eat nuts. I also used shortening instead of the butter. Wonderful tasting treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QUINNY2706
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Absolutely delish! Used dark choc chips so it wouldn't be so sweet. If you want to turn it out onto a wire rack for cooling or icing, do not put choc chips on top. Will be making this for son's birthday cake and icing it with lemon creamcheese icing. What a suprise it will be when it's cut - not the usual choc or vanilla cake inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
What a great recipe. My only changes were that I used soy milk, 1/2 cup butterscotch chips instead of chocolate chips, and extra coconut flakes and banana. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thai Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Awesome and moist with a few additions. I used 4 bananas, 1/4 c coconut, 1 c choc chips and 1 c peanut butter chips..all into the cake batter, 35 minutes and topped with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup of the butter with 1/2 cup of my Granny's homemade applesauce and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This recipe was so good. My family loved it. It was a nice change from the regular banana bread. I didn't add the nuts or coconut. When the cake came out of the oven I did get a knife and spread the chocolate chips over the cake, like a frosting.I also used soymilk instead of buttermilk and it turned out great. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States