Banana Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This cake is good. In order to cut some fat and calories, I only used 1/2 cup butter and added 1/2 applesauce to make up for it. I also cut the sugar in half to only 1/2 cup. I didn't have buttermilk, so used light sour cream instead. I also used mini chocolate chips and left out the nuts and coconut. I still thought it was yummy and even my picky boys ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Oh my. Soooo good. My husband and I can't get enough of this. We left out the coconut and walnuts and it still turned out beautiful--great flavor and texture. After mashing 3 bananas, I had a quarter cup more than is called for but I used it all anyway. Worked great. This is a new family favorite! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOBSTER
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Turned out great!! Knowing a teen boy would scarf all of this down fast, I made a few healthy subs...1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup light margarine, 1/2 cup apple sauce, 1/2 cup non-fat yogurt, 1/2 cup ww flour, 1 cup old fashioned oats and I used milk choc chips (what I had on hand). Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was really yummy! I used half the butter, and replaced the other half with fat free vanilla yogurt to lower the fat a bit. I only had a cup of chocolate chips so I used the in the cake part and sprinkled brown sugar on the top instead. It was really good and gave it a crunchy-sticky topping. Next time I will sprinkle the chocolate chips and the brown sugar on it. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this is a very good recipe. i like the chocolate chips in it, but the added chocolate chips on top is too much for my taste. definatly will be making this again, without the extra chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Phenomenal! Such a moist and delicious cake. My alterations were minor, and only because I lacked 2 ingredients. Instead of buttermilk, I used regular milk and a splash of lemon juice to curdle. Instead of walnuts I used sliced almonds, which were fabulous in the moist cake and mixed very nicely with the coconut. Finally, I added about 1/4 cup of milled flaxseed just to give it a little healthy kick. mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This is a great cake for a twist to the traditional banana bread. I made this minus the coconut and nuts and it was super! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was seriously horrible. I expected so much from it. I think it just had too many ingredients/conflicting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Moist, nice flavor and perfect for a simple summer dessert. Perfect as is, but I love nuts and coconut so may double both the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I altered the recipe a little bit. Like others, I only used 3/4 cup of butter. I had four bananas on their way out, so I used them all. I was running short on chocolate chips, so I added cocoa powder to the dry mixture. And, I'm out of nuts. In the end, they are delicious. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States